H.R. No. 1231

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Wilson County are gathering in
Austin on April 25, 2023, to celebrate Wilson County Day at the
State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Situated on the upper coastal plain of South Texas, 4 5 Wilson County was initially inhabited by Native Americans of the Coahuiltecan linguistic family; Spanish explorers traveled through 6 7 the area in the early 18th century, and permanent settlement began some time before 1830; the first Anglo settlers arrived in the late 8 1840s, and in the following decades, the region attracted a number 9 of planters from the southern states as well as German and Polish 10 11 immigrants from other Texas counties; and

12 WHEREAS, Wilson County was officially established on February 13, 1860, and the town of Sutherland Springs was 13 14 designated as its first county seat; named for James C. Wilson, a legislator and member of the Somervell expedition, the county 15 16 encompasses sections that were originally part of Bexar and Karnes Counties; the county seat alternated between Sutherland Springs and 17 Lodi before a November 1873 election named Floresville as the new 18 county seat, a decision that is still in effect today; the county's 19 other communities include Poth, Stockdale, La Vernia, and Pandora; 20 21 and

22 WHEREAS, A significant portion of Wilson County is considered 23 prime farmland, and the area serves as an important source of 24 peanuts, hay, sorghum, oats, wheat, corn, watermelons, peaches, and

1

1 pecans; the county has also benefited from the ranching industry, 2 and cattle, dairy, hogs, and poultry have long been major 3 agricultural products in the region; and

WHEREAS, The people of Wilson County take great pride in their rich history as they work together to build an even brighter future, and it is indeed fitting to honor them for their unique contributions to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 9 Legislature hereby recognize April 25, 2023, as Wilson County Day 10 at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting 11 delegation.

Guillen

H.R. No. 1231

2

H.R. No. 1231

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slaton Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 1231

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1231 was adopted by the House on April 25, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House