RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The observance of World War II Veterans Capitol Day 2 on May 11, 2023, provides an opportunity to honor brave members of 3 the Greatest Generation for their selfless service; and

WHEREAS, On December 7, 1941, the United States was drawn into the most devastating and consequential conflict in human history; then-Texas Governor Coke R. Stevenson predicted that Texans would rise proudly to the challenge of defending their country, and he was proved correct by the long lines of volunteers waiting eagerly to enlist at recruiting centers around the state; and

11 WHEREAS, Although Texas in that era had but five percent of 12 the nation's population, the state provided seven percent of armed forces personnel; by the end of the war, 750,000 Texans, including 13 14 12,000 women, had contributed to victory over enemy forces; the majority of these service members were in the U.S. Army and the Army 15 16 Air Force, but nearly a quarter served in other branches; over 22,000 Texans made the ultimate sacrifice, a third of this number in 17 the U.S. Navy, Marine Corps., or Coast Guard; Texas A&M University 18 alone produced more officers than both of the extant military 19 20 academies together; and

21 WHEREAS, Individual Texans fought with great valor in all the 22 theaters of the war, and 33 were awarded the Medal of Honor; one 23 such honoree, Lieutenant Audie L. Murphy of Farmersville, was the 24 most highly decorated American of the Second World War; another

1

1 honoree, Private First Class Silvestre S. Herrera of El Paso, was injured in a fight that led to the capture of eight enemy soldiers; 2 3 more than 150 generals and 12 admirals were either natives or residents of Texas, the Supreme Allied Commander in Europe, General 4 5 Dwight D. Eisenhower, a Denison native who was stationed at Fort Sam Houston when the war began; Admiral Chester W. Nimitz, appointed 6 Commander in Chief, US Pacific Fleet and Commander in Chief, 7 8 Pacific Ocean Areas following the attack on Pearl Harbor, was born in Fredericksburg and descended from a pioneer Texas German family; 9 10 other Texans who served with particular distinction include Women's Army Corp. Colonel Oveta Culp Hobby, who also served as a 11 parliamentarian in this chamber, Navy cook Doris "Dorie" Miller of 12 Waco, Marine parachuter Harlan Block, Major General Claire 13 14 Chennault of Commerce, and Major General James Earl Rudder of Eden, 15 among many others who we honor today; and

16 WHEREAS, According to the National World War II Museum, as of 17 2022, 8,200 World War II veterans were living in Texas, the 18 fifth-highest number of all states in the U.S.; they represent 0.6 19 percent of the state's total veteran population of approximately 20 1,400,000; and

21 WHEREAS, Inspired by a deep sense of patriotism, love for 22 freedom, and opposition to tyranny everywhere, the veterans of 23 World War II answered their nation's call to duty, and it is indeed 24 fitting to express our enduring respect and admiration for their 25 courage and immeasurable fortitude; now, therefore, be it

26 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
27 Legislature hereby recognize May 11, 2023, as World War II Veterans

2

H.R. No. 1716 1 Capitol Day and encourage all residents of the Lone Star State to 2 learn more about the incomparable contributions of the Greatest 3 Generation.

Wilson

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1716 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House