By: J. Johnson of Harris

H.R. No. 2214

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Klein Forest High School boys' track team closed
 out an unforgettable year by winning the 6A championship at the 2023
 University Interscholastic League Track & Field State Meet; and

WHEREAS, Joining the other top high school competitors at Mike A. Myers Stadium in Austin on May 13, the Klein Forest athletes turned in an exceptional showing; the Golden Eagles racked up a total score of 58, outdistancing the runner-up squad by 14 points to claim the school's second 6A crown following a title-winning effort in 2019; and

WHEREAS, Ultimately, the team championship was decided in the 10 11 final event; entering the 1,600-meter relay in second place 12 overall, the Golden Eagles received a clutch performance from Lawson Jacobs, A'Isayha Brown, Terrence Morris, and Jelani Watkins, 13 14 who clocked in at 3 minutes, 11.69 seconds, to clinch gold and the 6A championship; Klein Forest also won the 400-meter relay, with 15 16 Mr. Watkins, Parker Jenkins, Ahmir Robinson, and Jaden Galloway triumphing in 40.01 seconds; in individual events, Mr. Watkins 17 added to his medal haul by winning the 200 meters with a time of 18 20.54 seconds, and Mr. Jacobs placed second in the 400 meters, 19 20 crossing the line in 47.24 seconds; and

21 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship represents the 22 culmination of countless hours of hard work and an unwavering 23 commitment to excellence, and the Klein Forest Golden Eagles will 24 treasure the memory of this accomplishment for the rest of their

1

H.R. No. 2214

1 lives; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Klein Forest High School boys' track team on winning the 6A championship at the 2023 UIL Track & Field State Meet and extend to the team's athletes and coaches sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the Golden Eagles as an expression of high regard by
the Texas House of Representatives.