By: Flores S.C.R. No. 43

1 SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION WHEREAS, Fifty students from several member institutions of 2 the Texas A&M University System are providing valuable support to 3 4 the 88th Texas Legislature while gaining experience in public service as members of the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy 5 Internship Program, the Public Policy Internship Program, the Bush 6 7 School of Government & Public Service Capstone Scholars Program, the School of Law Residency Externship Program in Public Policy, 8 9 and the Tarleton State University internship program; and 10 WHEREAS, For over three decades, the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program has sent students from the 11 Texas A&M University College of Agriculture & Life Sciences to 12 Austin, Washington, D.C., and abroad to work on a wide array of 13 issues; their strong background and interest in agriculture and 14 natural resources allow them to offer specialized knowledge to 15 16 offices; over 1,000 students have participated in this program to

17 date; the current ANRP interns are Victoria Benavides, Cameron

18 Castillo, Sarah Denison, Bailey Halbert, William Howe, and Cason

19 Moorman; and

WHEREAS, The Texas A&M University Public Policy Internship
Program, established in 1999, invites students across all Texas A&M
University degree programs to create an interdisciplinary
environment for comprehensive academic training, research, and
policy programming; interns in the nation's capital, in Austin, and

- 1 abroad serve in a variety of settings that align with their
- 2 professional goals; some 1,000 students have participated in this
- 3 program to date; the current PPIP interns are Blake Albright,
- 4 Crystal Amoles, Peter Barnett, Graeson Chadwell, Lillian Dacke,
- 5 Sumanpreet Dosanjh, Erica Emig, Clark Garcia, Ariana Garlic,
- 6 Shannon Gray, Marla Guerra, Lillian Hale, Jason Haug, Chrissa
- 7 Jacobson, Aseer Karowadia, Magdalyn Klynsma, Christopher
- 8 Livaudais, Michelle Mares, Tasha Martin, Brayden Moore, Julia
- 9 Patterson, Abigail Powell, Jacob Pratt, Carson Prejean, Varun
- 10 Singh, Cassidy Smith, and Grant Socol; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Since the 82nd Session, the Bush School of
- 12 Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University has sent a
- 13 select group of graduate students, known as Capstone Scholars, to
- 14 work in the legislature; these students, most of whom intend to work
- 15 in government positions when they graduate, bring knowledge,
- 16 skills, and motivation to their respective offices; their
- 17 legislative experiences add greatly to their professional
- 18 development and benefit the state of Texas in myriad ways; the
- 19 current Bush School Capstone interns are Tal Carson, Sydney De
- 20 Vault-Garvey, Israel Eisenbeiss, Willie Gonzales, Ryan Heare,
- 21 Taitelyn Morris, Aditya Prasetyo, Debbra Willis, and Abdulatif
- 22 Zaki; and
- 23 WHEREAS, The Texas A&M School of Law Residency Externship
- 24 Program in Public Policy, first offered in 2016, brings law
- 25 students to Washington, D.C., and Austin to serve in a variety of
- 26 legislative, executive, and advocacy settings that align with their
- 27 professional goals; students are selected for their academic

- 1 achievement, demonstrated interest in public service, and
- 2 completion of studies specific to legislation, regulation, and
- 3 substantive policy law; this preparation allows them to offer
- 4 advanced skills and knowledge to the policymakers and advocates
- 5 with whom they work; current Texas A&M Law Students are Michael
- 6 Chavarria, Meagan Corser, and McKenna Martinez; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Since 2010, Tarleton State University has sent
- 8 numerous interns to Austin and Washington, D.C., where they work on
- 9 an array of issues; their strong background and interest in public
- 10 policy, history, education, criminal justice, health care, and
- 11 agriculture, among other topics, equip them to offer specialized
- 12 knowledge to legislators; current Tarleton interns are Desirae
- 13 Garcia, Emilie Gaucin-Rodarte, Walker Kirk, Olivia Lasater, and
- 14 Kiara Owen; and
- WHEREAS, Through the years, these programs have helped
- 16 exceptional students deepen their understanding of legislative
- 17 processes and general government functionality while developing
- 18 important professional skills and critical peer networks, and past
- 19 program participants have gone on to make vital contributions and
- 20 assume leadership roles in a variety of arenas; the outstanding
- 21 young people who are giving of their time and talents, with the
- 22 utmost integrity, throughout this legislative session can indeed
- 23 take pride in their achievements and selfless service to the Lone
- 24 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 25 RESOLVED, That the 88th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 26 hereby recognize the 2023 Texas A&M University System policy
- 27 interns and commend the current participants for their diligence

S.C.R. No. 43

- 1 and commitment to excellence; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard by the
- 4 Texas House of Representatives and Senate.