By: Hughes

S.R. No. 8

## SENATE RESOLUTION

BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Texas, That the Temporary Rules of the Senate of the 87th Legislature, as amended, are adopted as the Permanent Rules of the Senate of the 88th Legislature with the following modifications:

Amend Rule 11.02 to read as follows:

LIST OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND SUBCOMMITTEES

Rule 11.02. <u>(a)</u> At the beginning of each regular session, the President shall appoint the following standing committees with the number of members indicated:

## STANDING COMMITTEES

- (1) Committee on Administration (7 members)
- (2) Committee on Border Security (5 members)
- (3) Committee on Business and Commerce (11 members)
  [(9 members)]
  - (4) [(3)] Committee on Criminal Justice (7 members)
  - (5) [(4)] Committee on Education (13 members) [(11

members)]

| (6) | $[\frac{(5)}{(5)}]$ | Committee    | on  | Finance    | (17          | members)  | [(15    |
|-----|---------------------|--------------|-----|------------|--------------|-----------|---------|
| (0) |                     | 001111120000 | 011 | I IIIUIIOC | <u>\ _ /</u> | member b/ | 1 ( 1 ) |

members)]

(7) [(6)] Committee on Health and Human Services (9

members)

[(7) Committee on Higher Education (9 members)]

(8) Committee on Jurisprudence (5 members)

S.R. No. 8

(9) Committee on Local Government (9 members)

(10) Committee on Natural Resources and EconomicDevelopment (9 members)

(11) Committee on Nominations (9 members)

(12) Committee on State Affairs (11 members) [(9)
members)]

(13) Committee on Transportation (9 members)

(14) Committee on Veteran Affairs [and Border Security] (7 members)

(15) Committee on Water, Agriculture, and Rural
Affairs (9 members).

(b) From the members of the Committee on Education, the President shall appoint a Subcommittee on Higher Education consisting of 5 members.

## President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 11, 2023, by the following vote: Yeas 31, Nays O.

Secretary of the Senate