SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 10

WHEREAS, The Houston Astros closed out a historic campaign by winning the Major League Baseball World Series on November 5, 2022, collecting the team's second championship; and

WHEREAS, After a remarkable regular season in which they collected 106 wins and the American League West Division crown, the Astros advanced through their first two playoff series without losing a single contest; the three-game triumph over the Seattle Mariners concluded with a marathon battle that stretched to 18 innings before Houston scored the winning run; the team followed with a dominating 4-0 sweep of the New York Yankees to reach the World Series for the second straight year and for the fifth time in franchise history; and

WHEREAS, Matching up against the Philadelphia Phillies in the Fall Classic, the Astros staged a thrilling comeback, rallying from a 2-1 series deficit to reel off three consecutive victories; the team silenced the Phillies fans at Citizens Bank Park in Game 4 thanks to a historic performance by pitchers Cristian Javier, Bryan Abreu, Rafael Montero, and Ryan Pressly, who combined for the first World Series no-hitter since 1956; following a nail-biting 3-2 win in Game 5, the Astros took the field for Game 6 at Minute Maid Park with a chance to clinch the title; Framber Valdez gave up just one run in six innings, and Yordan Alvarez smashed a three-run homer in the sixth inning to put the Astros up for good; when the final out was recorded for 4-1 victory, the Houston faithful the celebrated the organization's second World Series crown in six seasons; and

WHEREAS, The Astros were led by Jeremy Peña, who was named MVP of both the American League Championship Series and the World

1

S.R. No. 10

Series; another beloved hero of the 2022 campaign was manager Dusty Baker, who captured the first World Series title of his coaching career after compiling more than 2,000 victories with five different teams; and

WHEREAS, The 2022 Houston Astros have burnished the organization's reputation as a modern baseball dynasty, and this unforgettable championship season will be celebrated by the team's countless fans for many years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby congratulate the Houston Astros on winning the 2022 Major League Baseball World Series and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Astros organization as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Alvarado

Bettencourt Birdwell Blanco Campbell Creighton Eckhardt Flores Gutierrez Hall Hancock Hinojosa Huffman Hughes Johnson King Kolkhorst LaMantia Menéndez Middleton Miles Nichols Parker Paxton Perry Schwertner Sparks Springer West Whitmire Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 18, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate