SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 98

WHEREAS, Sexual Assault Survivors Day is being held at the State Capitol on January 28, 2023, to promote awareness of the issue of sexual assault and to honor the courage of survivors throughout the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, Each year, thousands of Americans from all walks of life are subject to sexual assault; in the United States, 1 in 6 women and 1 in 33 men will experience an attempted or completed rape in their lifetime, and 1 in 9 girls and 1 in 53 boys experience sexual abuse at the hands of an adult before the age of 18; more than two-thirds of sexual assaults are never reported to the police; and

WHEREAS, In 2019, the Texas Legislature established Sexual Assault Survivors Day to bring attention to the destructive effect that sexual assault has on the lives of survivors and their families and friends; moreover, the day serves to highlight the strength of survivors, who support the cause by bravely sharing their stories, as well as the many law enforcement officers, prosecutors, judges, and organizations that fight to protect Texans from sexual assault and to advocate for survivors of this heinous crime; and

WHEREAS, Vigilance against sexual assault is crucial to the safety and well-being of Texans, and the observance of Sexual Assault Survivors Day offers an opportunity to learn more about prevention while saluting those who work every day to eliminate this crime; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby recognize January 28, 2023, as Sexual Assault Survivors Day at the State Capitol.

Parker

Alvarado	Hancock	Miles
Bettencourt	Hinojosa	Nichols
Birdwell	Huffman	Paxton
Blanco	Hughes	Perry
Campbell	Johnson	Schwertner
Creighton	King	Sparks
Eckhardt	Kolkhorst	Springer
Flores	LaMantia	West
Gutierrez	Menéndez	Whitmire
Hall	Middleton	Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 24, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate