## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 146

WHEREAS, Members of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas are gathering in Austin on February 22, 2023, to participate in Sheriffs' Association of Texas Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Constitution created the office of sheriff in each county of the state; legislation requires that a sheriff conserve peace and enforce the criminal laws of the state; moreover, the sheriff is responsible for the county jail, bail bonds, civil process, and the security of the courts; in some smaller counties, the sheriff may also act as the tax collector; and

WHEREAS, The first meeting of this esteemed association took place on August 14, 1874, making this group one of the oldest law enforcement organizations in the nation; association members adopted their preamble calling for sheriffs to assist one another in the execution of laws, in the discharge of their duties against criminals, and in the protection of the citizens in their respective counties and throughout the state; through the years, the association has continued to follow the dictates of this mission; and

WHEREAS, Sheriffs in our state's 254 counties are elected to four-year terms, and each sheriff is a member of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas; in addition, more than 2,500 individuals are active members of the group, and over 50,000 others are honorary members; and

WHEREAS, The men and women of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas are helping to make the Lone Star State an even safer place,

1

and their work benefits countless people each day; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby recognize February 22, 2023, as Sheriffs' Association of Texas Day at the State Capitol and commend the members of the organization for their many contributions to their communities; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Sheriffs' Association of Texas as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Flores, Hughes, Menéndez

Alvarado Bettencourt Birdwell Blanco Campbell Creighton Eckhardt Gutierrez Hall Hancock Hinojosa Huffman Johnson King Kolkhorst LaMantia Middleton Miles Nichols Parker Paxton Perry Schwertner Sparks Springer West Whitmire Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

## President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 22, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate