SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 165

WHEREAS, Averie Bishop of The Colony was crowned Miss Texas 2022 at the Eisemann Center in Richardson on June 25, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Bishop competed in the statewide event as Miss Carrollton, and she is the first Asian American woman to win the title of Miss Texas; in December 2022, she advanced to the Miss America Competition and was named second runner-up, making her the highest-placing Miss Texas in 15 years; and

WHEREAS, In her role as Miss Texas, Ms. Bishop travels across the world for speaking engagements and appearances, where she addresses topics such as mental health and social media; by advocating through her social platforms and acting as an ambassador for the Texas Cares for Children program, she hopes to make every child feel at home; she is also the author of a children's book, Miss Melody the Marigold, and all proceeds go to her nonprofit, The Tulong Foundation; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Bishop is a first-generation law school graduate from the Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law, and she also holds a certification in finance from Harvard Business School; furthermore, she is a small business owner and an international nonprofit CEO, and she is the youngest committee member of the anti-hate advisory council to Mayor Eric Johnson in Dallas; and

WHEREAS, Averie Bishop has proven herself to be a deserving recipient of the Miss Texas crown, and the hard work, determination, and perseverance that she has demonstrated in attaining this goal are certain to serve her well in her future

endeavors; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby congratulate Averie Bishop on her selection as Miss Texas 2022 and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Ms. Bishop as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Springer

Alvarado Hancock Miles Hinojosa Bettencourt Nichols Birdwell Huffman Parker Blanco Hughes Paxton Campbell Johnson Perry Creighton King Schwertner Kolkhorst Eckhardt Sparks Flores LaMantia West Gutierrez Menéndez Whitmire Hall Middleton Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 14, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate