SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 185

WHEREAS, Manufacturers in Texas play an integral role in the state's economy and development, and their important contributions merit special recognition; and

WHEREAS, Texas manufacturing contributes more than \$241 billion to the state's economy, totaling 13 percent of the gross output in the state; because of this outstanding level of production, Texas is the nation's leading exporter of manufactured goods, with items made in Texas representing over \$200 billion of the manufactured products exported from the United States; and

WHEREAS, Approximately 881,000 Texans work in the sector, receiving an average annual compensation of over \$90,000; these positions spur subsequent growth, with every new manufacturing job leading to the creation of between 2 to 16 additional openings; moreover, manufacturing is responsible for more than 60 percent of all private sector research and development spending; and

WHEREAS, The wide variety of products manufactured in Texas includes chemicals, computers and semiconductors, electronics, machinery, petroleum and coal goods, pharmaceuticals and medical devices, food and beverage items, agricultural products, aerospace products, motor vehicles, plastics, textiles, and rubber; this broad diversity is key to maintaining a competitive advantage in an increasingly global economy; and

1

WHEREAS, Across the state, the industry is represented by such central professional associations as the Texas Association of Manufacturers, as well as myriad regional associations, including San Antonio, North Texas, Dallas County, South Texas, Harlingen, San Marcos, New Braunfels, Washington County, Greater Houston, Harris County, and Austin Regional; and

WHEREAS, Manufacturers drive innovation, create well-paid job opportunities for many Texans, and contribute to the future economic health of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby recognize February 21, 2023, as Texas Manufacturers' Day and extend to all those associated with these vital businesses sincere best wishes for continued success.

Huffman

Alvarado Bettencourt Birdwell Blanco Campbell Creighton Eckhardt Flores Gutierrez Hall Hancock Hinojosa Hughes Johnson King Kolkhorst LaMantia Menéndez Middleton Miles Nichols Parker Paxton Perry Schwertner Sparks Springer West Whitmire Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 21, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate