SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 264

WHEREAS, Representatives of the City of Plano, the Plano Chamber of Commerce, and the Plano Independent School District are visiting Austin on February 28 and March 1, 2023, to take part in Plano Legislative Days at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Boasting a population of approximately 292,000, this self-styled City of Excellence is celebrating 150 years as a city on July 2, 2023, and it continues to garner accolades for its prosperity and quality of life; today, the city and its residents benefit from the outstanding leadership of Mayor John Muns and the seven members of the city council, Kayci Prince, Maria Tu, Anthony Ricciardelli, Rick Grady, Shelby Williams, Julie Holmer, and Rick Smith; in 2022, Plano was recognized as the ninth best city to find a job by WalletHub and as a best place to live in America by MSN, while maintaining its status as one of the safest cities in America as recognized by SmartAsset and being recognized for High-Performance Operations by Cartegraph; and

WHEREAS, Contributing greatly to the city's success is the Plano Chamber of Commerce, which is committed to supporting economic growth through advocacy, education, innovation, and collaboration; promoting the city's outstanding workforce, competitive business climate, world-class business parks, and accessibility, the chamber represents many iconic global corporations, including Toyota Motor North America, Liberty Mutual Insurance, JPMorgan Chase & Co., Boeing Global Services, NTT DATA, JCPenney, FedEx Office, Frito-Lay, and Capital One; its efforts have earned the Plano Chamber a five-star accreditation from the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, placing it among the top one percent of chambers of commerce in the nation, and the distinguished honor of being named 2018 Chamber of the Year by the Association of Chamber of Commerce Executives; the chamber benefits from the dedicated work of its president and CEO, Kelle Marsalis; and

WHEREAS, The Plano Independent School District is likewise benefiting the city and area residents, with nearly 7,000 members of its faculty and staff working to prepare the district's nearly 50,000 students for the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead; Plano ISD is ably led by superintendent Dr. Theresa Williams and the seven members of the board of trustees, David Stolle, Nancy Humphrey, Jeri Chambers, Dr. Lauren Tyra, Angela Powell, Dr. Heather Wang, and Cody Weaver; the teachers of Plano ISD average more than 11 years of experience, and 36 percent of them hold master's degrees or above; nearly 96 percent of Plano ISD students graduate in four years, and their scores on college entrance exams continue to exceed those of their peers nationwide; in addition, 103 Plano ISD seniors were awarded semifinalist standing in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program; the district is also home to a number of state, national, and international winners in fine arts, career and technical education, and science competitions; 13 district Parent Teacher Associations have been recognized as National PTA Schools of Excellence; moreover, Plano ISD has been able to shift gears, acquire materials, train staff, and work with

community partners to continue meeting the diverse and complex needs of students and families since the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic; and

WHEREAS, A true Lone Star success story, Plano is a global leader where residents are bonded by a shared sense of community and experience unparalleled quality of life, and the City of Plano, the Plano Chamber of Commerce, and the Plano Independent School District are helping to build an even brighter and more prosperous future for their thriving community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby recognize February 28 and March 1, 2023, as Plano Legislative Days at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

Paxton

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 1, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate