SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 289

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Starr County are gathering in Austin on March 7, 2023, to celebrate Starr County Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Situated in South Texas along the Rio Grande, Starr County was formed in 1848 and named for Dr. James Harper Starr of the Republic of Texas; over the years, farming and ranching have been integral to the area, and today, construction and extraction, health care, and retail trade further the region's prosperity; and

WHEREAS, Rio Grande City, the county seat, is located in the heart of Los Caminos del Rio Heritage Corridor, which contains numerous architectural and historical treasures from the 18th and 19th centuries; Roma, the second largest city in the county, was founded in 1765 as a Spanish colonial town and, with a number of 19th century structures still standing, it is one of the best remaining Spanish colonial townsites in the lower Rio Grande Valley; the city was designated a national historic district and was used in the filming of Viva Zapata, starring Marlon Brando; other notable towns include Escobares and La Grulla; and

WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike benefit from the recreational opportunities afforded by Las Palomas State Wildlife Management Area and Falcon International Reservoir as well as year-round hunting; in addition, the county hosts a number of annual events, including the Starr County Fair and the Fourth of July Parade and Festival, held in Rio Grande City; and

WHEREAS, The people of Starr County take great pride in their rich history as they work together to build an even brighter future, and it is indeed appropriate to take this opportunity to honor them; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby recognize March 7, 2023, as Starr County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 7, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate