By: Birdwell

S.R. No. 386

SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the La Vega High School girls' basketball team, which won the 2022-2023 University Interscholastic League 4A state championship on March 4; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Pirates were victorious in their contest with the Sunnyvale Lady Raiders at the state finals at the Alamodome in San Antonio, where they secured the state title; and

WHEREAS, Team members have developed their tremendous talent and capacity for perseverance throughout the school year, and they may take great pride in their outstanding performance at the state championship and in their impressive record throughout their regular season and into the playoffs; and

WHEREAS, Their mental fortitude and steadfast commitment to training strengthened the Lady Pirates and prepared them to win the state basketball championship; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Marcus Willis Sr. and assistant coaches Sherry Salter, James Brown, Michael Mitchell, LaNita Keys, Victoria Kuykendall, and Lisa Edney and with the assistance of the team's managers and trainers, the Lady Pirates have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, La Vega High School, the La Vega Independent School District, and the Cities of Bellmead and Waco are

1

S.R. No. 386

justifiably proud of the Lady Pirates for their hard work, their athleticism, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby commend the La Vega Lady Pirates on their successful season and extend congratulations to the team's players, coaches, and staff on winning the 2022-2023 University Interscholastic League 4A state basketball championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.