By: Birdwell

S.R. No. 434

SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Bob Bullock Scholars Program of Baylor University and the scholars who are participating in the program during the 88th Texas Legislature in 2023; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2000 to honor the memory of Lieutenant Governor Bob Bullock, the Scholars Program promotes the practical study of politics by Baylor University students; and

WHEREAS, Each student selected for participation in the program works full time for a member of the Texas Legislature during the legislative session to learn firsthand about the structure and the politics of Texas government; the Bob Bullock Scholars Program is an outstanding opportunity for those who seek to learn about the process of policy making and prepare for a career in public service; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Patrick Flavin serves as the director of the Bob Bullock Scholars Program and oversees placement of Baylor students with legislative offices for the legislative session; and

WHEREAS, The 10 Bob Bullock Scholars working with legislators during the 88th Texas Legislature are: Allie Barnett with Senator Brian Birdwell, Caden Betancourt with Representative Jeff Leach, Mika'ele Castro with Senator Mayes

1

S.R. No. 434

Middleton, Hayden Cottrell with Representative Mary González, Paige Hoefer with Senator Royce West, Audrey La with Representative Gene Wu, Annabelle Snyder with Senator Robert Nichols, Gabe Solano with Senator Brandon Creighton, Rhayne Trahan with Representative Chris Turner, and Morné Wolmarans with Senator Drew Springer; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to Baylor University's Bob Bullock Scholars Program and commend this year's scholars on their participation in the state's legislative process; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the participants of the program as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

2