SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 440

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Austin speech team continued its tradition of excellence by winning the team sweepstakes championship at the 2023 American Forensic Association National Speech Tournament; and

WHEREAS, Competing from April 1 through 3 in Santa Ana, California, UT triumphed over 56 other universities to collect its second consecutive AFA national crown and the ninth in program history; the Longhorns were sparked by the individual championship performances of Valeria Najera in communication analysis, Kaylee Frazier in dramatic interpretation, and Patrick Pham in prose interpretation; and

WHEREAS, Additionally, five members of the UT squad achieved top-six showings; advancing to the finals were René Otero in duo interpretation, extemporaneous speaking, and impromptu speaking, Fernando Cereceres in program oral interpretation and prose interpretation, Kai Solis in duo interpretation, Jennifer Gonzalez in poetry interpretation, and Kyle Ahern in prose interpretation; and

WHEREAS, Housed in the Department of Communication Studies within the Moody College of Communication, the UT speech program is directed by professor Martin "Randy" Cox; coaches Eva Margarita, Clay Parker, Evan Ortiz, Karon Bowers, Katayoun Khalilian, and Erin Swearingen also provide valuable support; and

1

S.R. No. 440

WHEREAS, Demonstrating remarkable skill and determination, the members of the UT speech team have once again earned the mantle of national champion, and they may indeed reflect with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby congratulate The University of Texas speech team on winning the team sweepstakes championship at the 2023 American Forensic Association National Speech Tournament and extend to the competitors and coaches sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Eckhardt

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 19, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate