By: Craddick

H.C.R. No. 1

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Don Sparks of Midland, cofounder and chair of the 2 board of Discovery Operating, has been named the recipient of the 3 2025 Chief Roughneck Award by the Independent Petroleum Association 4 of America; and

5 WHEREAS, The highest honor awarded by IPAA, the Chief 6 Roughneck Award was established in 1955 and recognizes an 7 individual whose accomplishments and character represent the 8 highest ideals of the nation's oil and natural gas industry; 9 Mr. Sparks was selected by his peers as the 66th recipient of the 10 award; and

11 WHEREAS, Born in Pampa, Mr. Sparks grew up in Amarillo and 12 earned a bachelor's degree in petroleum engineering from The University of Texas at Austin in 1962; following his graduation, he 13 14 served as an officer in the U.S. Navy for four years, and he went on to hold a number of engineering and consulting roles with Bailey, 15 16 Sipes, Williamson and Runyan and with the Freeport Oil Company and Shell Oil Company; he cofounded Discovery Operating in 1973, and 17 today, the family-owned independent company operates approximately 18 420 wells across Texas and produces more than 15,000 barrels of oil 19 and 35 million cubic feet of natural gas per day; in addition, 20 Mr. Sparks cofounded Platt, Sparks & Associates, which evaluated 21 properties, performed reservoir studies, and provided expert 22 23 testimony for hearings and litigations; and

24

WHEREAS, Mr. Sparks has benefited his industry in numerous

1

H.C.R. No. 1

capacities; he has been influential in the development of the 1 Wolfcamp and Spraberry shales, and he helped establish the logging 2 3 suite and analysis that has been the basis for choosing the landing zones in the horizontal wells drilled and completed in the Midland 4 5 Basin; a licensed professional engineer, he has held leadership positions with the Permian Basin Chapter of the Society of 6 Petroleum Engineers, the Permian Basin Petroleum Association, and 7 8 IPAA, and he has also served with a number of other organizations and committees, including the U.S. Department 9 of Energy 10 Unconventional Resources Technology Advisory Committee and the National Society of Petroleum Engineers; he has received various 11 accolades in recognition of his efforts, such as the Leadership 12 Award from IPAA and the Top Hand award from the Permian Basin 13 14 Petroleum Association; and

15 WHEREAS, Through his outstanding professional contributions, 16 Don Sparks has earned the respect and admiration of innumerable 17 people, and he is richly deserving of this prestigious honor; now, 18 therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the 89th Legislature of the State of Texas, 20 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Don Sparks on receiving the 21 2025 Chief Roughneck Award from the Independent Petroleum 22 Association of America and extend to him sincere best wishes for the 23 future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Sparks as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

2