By: Nichols

S.B. No. 44

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 AN ACT 2 relating to the duties of the district attorney for the 1st Judicial District and the creation of the office of district attorney for the 3 273rd Judicial District. 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 5 SECTION 1. Section 43.101, Government Code, is amended to 6 read as follows: 7 Sec. 43.101. 1ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT. The voters of [Sabine 8 9 and] San Augustine County [counties] elect a district attorney for the 1st Judicial District who represents the state in the [that] 10 11 district courts in that county [court only in those counties]. 12 SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 43, Government Code, is amended by adding Section 43.1742 to read as follows: 13 14 Sec. 43.1742. 273RD JUDICIAL DISTRICT. The voters of Sabine County elect a district attorney for the 273rd Judicial 15 16 District who represents the state in the district courts in that 17 county. SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to 18 read as follows: 19 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 20 applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors, 21 and the following state prosecutors: 22 23 (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg 24 Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 24th,

## 89S10508 CS-D

1

S.B. No. 44

1 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 39th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 2 3 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 79th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 4 123rd, 132nd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 5 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 6 268th, 271st, 273rd, 286th, 287th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th, 7 369th, 452nd, and 506th judicial districts; 8

9 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties 10 of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, 11 12 Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Kendall, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, 13 Medina, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San 14 Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, 15 Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and 16

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Aransas, Burleson,
Callahan, Cameron, Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls,
Freestone, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lavaca,
Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Oldham, Orange,
Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Swisher, Terry, Webb, and
Willacy.

24 SECTION 4. (a) The office of district attorney for the 25 273rd Judicial District is created on the effective date of this 26 Act.

27 (b) The office of district attorney for the 273rd Judicial

2

S.B. No. 44

- District exists for purposes of the primary and general elections
   in 2028.
- 3 SECTION 5. This Act takes effect January 1, 2029.