By: Birdwell S.R. No. 12

SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the men's rodeo team at Tarleton State University, which won the national championship at the 2025 College National Finals Rodeo; and

WHEREAS, These dedicated student athletes carried on a proud legacy of exemplary skill and performance at the national competition and captivated audiences during their individual and team events; and

WHEREAS, Team members Montgomery Parsons, Coleman Shallbetter, Bailey Small, and Waitley Sharon delivered impressive performances in saddle bronc riding; Landris White competed fiercely in steer wrestling, and Brayden Roe excelled in tie-down roping; each athlete displayed remarkable grit, precision, and the relentless drive to bring home the team championship, scoring 250 points ahead of the runner-up; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head rodeo coach Mark Eakin and associate head rodeo coach Brittany Stewart, these university competitors developed outstanding discipline and proudly represented their university as one of the nation's largest and winningest rodeo programs; and

WHEREAS, Tarleton State University and the State of Texas are justifiably proud of the team for upholding a tradition of excellence in collegiate rodeo through their exceptional

athleticism and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 89th Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend the Tarleton State University men's rodeo team on their distinguished achievements and extend congratulations to the competitors and coaching staff on winning the national championship at the 2025 College National Finals Rodeo; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.