By: Birdwell S.R. No. 14

## SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Midway High School baseball team in Waco on winning the 2025 University Interscholastic League Class 6A Division I state championship; and

WHEREAS, The Midway Panthers defeated Atascocita High School in a hard-fought 6-2 victory on June 7, 2025, at Dell Diamond in Round Rock, and they earned the baseball program's second state championship in the more than 50 years of its history; and

WHEREAS, These skilled players excelled under the superior leadership of Head Coach Eddie Cornblum and Assistant Coaches Ben Basden, Patrick Mathis, Chase Cryer, and Ramone Reed; the athletes demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the season, and all associated with the team can take pride in their outstanding accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, Through countless hours of hard work and an unwavering commitment to excellence, the Midway High School baseball team realized their goal of becoming state champions; their achievement is a source of great pride to their school, including Principal Alison Smith, Associate Principal Dawn Griffin, and Athletic Director Brad Shelton, and to their many supporters in the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 89th

Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend the players, coaches, and staff of the Midway High School baseball team on their successful season and congratulate them on winning the 2025 University Interscholastic League Class 6A Division I state baseball championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.