By: Slawson, VanDeaver, González of El Paso, H.B. No. 125 King, Lambert, et al.

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1	AN ACT
2	relating to the creation of the Tarleton State University College
3	of Osteopathic Medicine.
4	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
5	SECTION 1. Subchapter A, Chapter 87, Education Code, is
6	amended by adding Section 87.005 to read as follows:
7	Sec. 87.005. TARLETON STATE UNIVERSITY COLLEGE OF
8	OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE. (a) In this section:
9	(1) "Board" means the board of regents of The Texas A&M
10	University System.
11	(2) "College" means the Tarleton State University
12	College of Osteopathic Medicine established under this section.
13	(3) "University" means Tarleton State University.
14	(b) The Tarleton State University College of Osteopathic
15	Medicine is a college of the university and is under the management
16	and control of the board with degrees offered under the name and
17	authority of the university.
18	(c) The board may prescribe courses leading to customary
19	degrees and may adopt policies for the operation, control, and
20	management of the college as necessary for conducting a college of
21	osteopathic medicine of the first class.
22	(d) A teaching hospital considered suitable by the board may
23	be provided by a public or private entity.
24	SECTION 2. Section 61.003(5), Education Code, is amended to

H.B. No. 125

1 read as follows:

(5) "Medical and dental unit" means The Texas A&M 2 3 University System Health Science Center and its component institutions, agencies, and programs; the Texas Tech University 4 5 Health Sciences Center; the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center at El Paso; the University of Houston College of Medicine; 6 the Sam Houston State University College of Osteopathic Medicine; 7 8 The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston; The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; The University of Texas 9 Medical School at San Antonio; The University of Texas Dental 10 Branch at Houston; The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer 11 Center; The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical 12 Sciences at Houston; The University of Texas Dental School at San 13 14 Antonio; The University of Texas Medical School at Houston; the 15 Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin; the School of Medicine at The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley; the 16 17 nursing institutions of The Texas A&M University System and The University of Texas System; the Tarleton State University College 18 of Osteopathic Medicine; and The University of Texas School of 19 Public Health at Houston; and such other medical or dental schools 20 as may be established by statute or as provided in this chapter. 21

22 SECTION 3. Section 61.501(1), Education Code, is amended to 23 read as follows:

(1) "Medical school" means the medical school at The
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, the medical
school at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, the
medical school at The University of Texas Health Science Center at

H.B. No. 125

1 San Antonio, The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, the medical school at The University of Texas at Austin, the medical 2 3 school at The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, the medical education program of The University of Texas Health Science Center 4 at Tyler, the medical school at the Texas Tech University Health 5 Sciences Center, the medical school at the Texas Tech University 6 Health Sciences Center at El Paso, the Sam Houston State University 7 8 College of Osteopathic Medicine, the University of Houston College of Medicine, the Baylor College of Medicine, the college of 9 10 osteopathic medicine at the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, the Tarleton State University College 11 12 of Osteopathic Medicine, or the medical school at the Texas A&M University Health Science Center. 13

SECTION 4. Section 63.002(c), Education Code, is amended to read as follows:

16 (c) The amount available for distribution from the fund may 17 be appropriated only for programs that benefit medical research, 18 health education, or treatment programs at the following 19 health-related institutions of higher education:

20 (1) The University of Texas Health Science Center at21 San Antonio;

(2) The University of Texas M. D. Anderson CancerCenter;

24 (3) The University of Texas Southwestern Medical25 Center;

26 (4) The University of Texas Medical Branch at 27 Galveston;

H.B. No. 125 1 (5) The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston; 2 3 (6) The University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler; 4 5 (7) The University of Texas Health Science Center--South Texas and its component institutions, if established 6 under Subchapter N, Chapter 74; 7 8 (8) The Texas A&M University Health Science Center; the University of North Texas Health Science 9 (9) 10 Center at Fort Worth; (10) the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; 11 the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center 12 (11)13 at El Paso; 14 (12)the University of Houston College of Medicine; 15 (13)the Sam Houston State University College of Osteopathic Medicine; 16 17 (14)the Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin; 18 19 (15) the Tarleton State University College of Osteopathic Medicine; and 20 (16) [(15)] Baylor College of Medicine, if a contract 21 between Baylor College of Medicine and the Texas Higher Education 22 23 Coordinating Board is in effect under Section 61.092. 24 SECTION 5. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives 25 a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this 26 Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this 27

H.B. No. 125

1 Act takes effect September 1, 2025.