By: Kitzman H.B. No. 4266

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1 AN ACT

- 2 relating to the application of the professional prosecutors law to
- 3 the county attorney of Fayette County.
- 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 5 SECTION 1. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to
- 6 read as follows:
- 7 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
- 8 applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors,
- 9 and the following state prosecutors:
- 10 (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg
- 11 Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 24th,
- 12 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 39th,
- 13 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th,
- 14 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 79th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th,
- 15 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th,
- 16 123rd, 132nd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th,
- 17 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th,
- 18 268th, 271st, 286th, 287th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th, 369th,
- 19 452nd, and 506th judicial districts;
- 20 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
- 21 of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
- 22 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
- 23 Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo,
- 24 Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Kendall, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison,

H.B. No. 4266

- 1 Medina, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San
- 2 Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt,
- 3 Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- 4 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
- 5 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Aransas, Burleson,
- 6 Callahan, Cameron, Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls,
- 7 Fayette, Freestone, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas,
- 8 Lavaca, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Oldham,
- 9 Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Swisher, Terry, Webb,
- 10 and Willacy.
- 11 SECTION 2. This Act takes effect September 1, 2025.