H.R. No. 46

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Senator Judith Zaffirini became the first female
dean of the Texas Senate on December 31, 2023; and

3 WHEREAS, The first Mexican American woman elected to the chamber and now its first Latina dean, Senator Zaffirini took 4 5 office in 1987; setting a high standard of productivity, she has cast more than 72,000 consecutive votes and passed nearly 1,400 6 7 bills, historic records unlikely to be matched by any legislator; her ability to work across the aisle was especially evident during 8 9 the last five Republican-dominated legislative sessions, during which she has been the highest bill-passer; and 10

11 WHEREAS, Senator Zaffirini has held numerous leadership 12 roles in the Senate, including chair of the Higher Education, Health and Human Services, and Government Organization Committees 13 14 and vice chair of the Committee on Natural Resources and Economic Development and of Finance; she also was appointed to the special 15 16 committees on Grid Reliability Legislative Oversight and on Tropical Storm Preparedness, 17 Hurricane and Recovery, and Electricity, and she has chaired the Eagle Ford Shale Legislative 18 Caucus; among many other committees, she has served as a member of 19 Business and Commerce, Finance, State Affairs, and Redistricting; 20 21 since 2015 she also has served on the Texas Judicial Council and since 2017 in the Texas Access to Justice Commission; and 22

23 WHEREAS, In 2024 the Webb County Justice Center was renamed 24 the Dean Senator Judith Zaffirini Justice Center, becoming the

1

H.R. No. 46

1 first local Texas courthouse named for a woman; Senator Zaffirini is the namesake of a number of other public buildings and 2 3 facilities, as well as grant programs and scholarships at educational institutions across the state; the recipient of more 4 5 than 1,200 accolades for her legislative, civic, and professional achievements, she most recently garnered such honors as the Star of 6 Justice Award from the Texas Access to Justice Commission, the 7 8 Orgullo Latino Legacy Award from Webb County LULAC Council No. 22387, and the Champion of Medicine Award from the Texas Medical 9 Association Border Health Caucus; she was inducted into the Texas 10 Women's Hall of Fame by Governor Greg Abbott in 2018; and 11

WHEREAS, Senator Zaffirini is a former educator, the owner of Zaffirini Communications, and the president of the Mr. South Texas Foundation and the D&J Alexander Foundation; named a Distinguished Alumna of The University of Texas at Austin in 2003, she earned her bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees from the institution; and

WHEREAS, Above all, she is inspired by her family, namely her husband of 60 years, Carlos Sr.; their son, Carlos Jr., and daughter by marriage, Audrey; and her two darling grandsons, Asher (7) and George (5); and

22 WHEREAS, Over the course of her remarkable legislative 23 career, Judith Zaffirini has made a positive difference in the 24 lives of countless Texans, and she has set an example of effective 25 public service to which all may aspire; now, therefore, be it

26 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
27 Legislature hereby recognize the Honorable Judith Zaffirini for her

2

H.R. No. 46 1 contributions as a state legislator and congratulate her on being 2 named dean of the Texas Senate; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Senator Zaffirini as an expression of high regard by 5 the Texas House of Representatives.

> Morales Shaw Hunter Raymond Flores Guillen

3

Burrows Alders Allen Anchía Ashby Barry Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Curry Darby A. Davis of Dallas Y. Davis of Dallas Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Dyson Fairly Flores Frank Gámez Garcia of Bexar Garcia of Dallas Garcia Hernandez Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris Harris Davila Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Hickland Hinojosa Holt Hopper Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Johnson Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kerwin King Kitzman LaHood Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo Wilson Little Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Louderback Lowe Lozano Lujan Luther Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer McLaughlin McQueeney Metcalf Meyer Meza Money Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Morales Shaw Morgan Muñoz Noble Olcott Oliverson Ordaz Orr Patterson Paul Perez of El Paso Perez of Harris Phelan Pierson Plesa Raymond Reynolds Richardson Rodríguez Ramos Romero Rose Rosenthal Schatzline Schofield Schoolcraft Shaheen Shofner Simmons Slawson Smithee Spiller Swanson Talarico Tepper Thompson Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Villalobos Virdell Vo Walle Ward Johnson Wharton Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 46

H.R. No. 46

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 46 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2025, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House