H.R. No. 70

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of San Antonio lost an admired community 2 activist and civic leader with the passing of Daniel G. Rodriguez 3 Jr. on January 9, 2025, at the age of 73; and

WHEREAS, Born in Laredo on November 8, 1951, to Sofia Garza 4 5 Rodriguez and Daniel Rodriguez Sr., Dan Rodriguez grew up in San Antonio with the companionship of 10 siblings, Rita, Laura, Rene, 6 7 Annette, Hilda, Linda, Isaac, Agustin, Hector, and Rudy; he went on to graduate from Kennedy High School and shortly thereafter 8 9 exchanged wedding vows with his high school sweetheart, Diana Cardenas; the couple shared a rewarding marriage of 54 years and 10 11 lovingly raised four children, Sonia, Daniel, Kristy, and Javier, 12 and their treasured family eventually grew to include numerous grandchildren and great-grandchildren; and 13

WHEREAS, As a teenager, Mr. Rodriguez found employment with the City of San Antonio as a community service officer in the housing projects; he subsequently worked for the city's Community Relations Drug Inhalant Prevention Program from 1971 to 1983, and he was involved with the Brown Berets, the Mexican American Youth Organization, and La Raza Unida Party; in his later years, he also participated in the AFL-CIO and local Democratic politics; and

21 WHEREAS, In 1983, Mr. Rodriguez became a bus driver for VIA 22 Metropolitan Transit, which led him to take an active role in the 23 Amalgamated Transit Union Local 694; his career with VIA and his 24 affiliation with ATU spanned more than 33 years, during which time

1

H.R. No. 70

1 he was elected to four terms as the union's president and was 2 instrumental in launching the Health and Welfare Fund for its 3 members; he was known for his keen skills as a negotiator for the 4 organization, and in 2015, he succeeded in securing a paid holiday 5 for VIA employees in honor of labor leader Cesar Chavez; and

6 WHEREAS, Dan Rodriguez positively impacted countless lives 7 through his service, his mentorship, and his unwavering commitment 8 to the rights of the disadvantaged, and he leaves behind a legacy 9 that will long be remembered; now, therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas 11 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Daniel G. Rodriguez 12 Jr. and extend deepest condolences to all who mourn his passing; 13 and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in the memory of Daniel G. Rodriguez Jr.

Martinez Fischer

2

Burrows Alders Allen Anchía Ashby Barry Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Curry Darby A. Davis of Dallas Y. Davis of Dallas Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Dyson Fairly Flores Frank Gámez Garcia of Bexar Garcia of Dallas Garcia Hernandez Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris Harris Davila Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Hickland Hinojosa Holt Hopper Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Johnson Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kerwin King Kitzman LaHood Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo Wilson Little Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Louderback Lowe Lozano Lujan Luther Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer McLaughlin McQueeney Metcalf Meyer Meza Money Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Morales Shaw Morgan Muñoz Noble Olcott Oliverson Ordaz Orr Patterson Paul Perez of El Paso Perez of Harris Phelan Pierson Plesa Rodríguez Ramos Raymond Reynolds Richardson Romero Rose Rosenthal Schatzline Schofield Schoolcraft Shaheen Shofner Simmons Slawson Smithee Spiller Swanson Talarico Tepper Thompson Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Villalobos Virdell Vo Walle Ward Johnson Wharton Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 70

H.R. No. 70

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 70 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on January 16, 2025.

Chief Clerk of the House