H.R. No. 98

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents are gathering in Austin on February
18, 2025, to celebrate Hardin County Day at the State Capitol; and

3 WHEREAS, Situated northeast of Houston, Hardin County is 4 predominantly made up of pine and hardwood forests in the East Texas 5 Timberlands region; and

6 WHEREAS, Following the Texas Revolution, the area was split 7 between the jurisdictions of Liberty and Jefferson Counties; in 1858, the State Legislature established Hardin County, drawing 8 9 territory from both parent counties; under state law, the county's name honored the Hardin family of Liberty, and the county seat also 10 11 bore that name; in 1881, the Sabine and East Texas Railroad bypassed 12 Hardin in favor of its own newly established town, Kountze, which ultimately became the county seat; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Early farmers in Hardin County raised corn, sweet potatoes, hogs, cattle, sheep, and horses; as early as 1878, 15 loggers were floating cut timber to the Neches River and on to 16 Beaumont, and by 1881, at least two lumber-processing mills were 17 operating in the county; the subsequent arrivals of other railway 18 companies further stimulated the lumber industry; a big economic 19 boost came with the discovery of oil at Saratoga and Batson and the 20 21 development of the Sour Lake oil field in 1903; today, chambers of commerce in Kountze, Lumberton, Silsbee, and Sour Lake promote 22 23 economic development in their communities; and

24

WHEREAS, Hardin County is further buoyed by its robust

1

H.R. No. 98

ecotourism, which offers ample opportunities for recreation and
under the natural beauty of the Big Thicket National Preserve and
Village Creek State Park.

WHEREAS, Residents of Hardin County are working together to build an even brighter future, and this special day provides a fitting opportunity to pay tribute to the county and its people; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas 9 Legislature hereby recognize February 18, 2025, as Hardin County 10 Day at the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting 11 delegation.

Holt

Burrows Alders Allen Anchía Ashby Barry Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Curry Darby A. Davis of Dallas Y. Davis of Dallas Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Dyson Fairly Flores Frank Gámez Garcia of Bexar Garcia of Dallas Garcia Hernandez Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris Harris Davila Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Hickland Hinojosa Holt Hopper Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Johnson Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kerwin King Kitzman LaHood Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo Wilson Little Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Louderback Lowe Lozano Lujan Luther Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer McLaughlin McQueeney Metcalf Meyer Meza Money Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Morales Shaw Morgan Muñoz Noble Olcott Oliverson Ordaz Orr Patterson Paul Perez of El Paso Perez of Harris Phelan Pierson Plesa Raymond Reynolds Richardson Rodríguez Ramos Romero Rose Rosenthal Schatzline Schofield Schoolcraft Shaheen Shofner Simmons Slawson Smithee Spiller Swanson Talarico Tepper Thompson Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Villalobos Virdell Vo Walle Ward Johnson Wharton Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 98

H.R. No. 98

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 98 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2025, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House