H.R. No. 127

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Hundreds of employees, advocates, and allies of the 2 energy industry are gathering in Austin on February 4, 2025, in 3 celebration of Texas Energy Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Contributing to an unprecedented level of American 4 5 energy security, Texas leads the nation in oil and natural gas production, pipeline capacity, miles, refining 6 storage, 7 processing, and exports; 2024 was a groundbreaking year for the oil and natural gas sector, helping the state move closer to reaching 8 9 Governor Greq Abbott's qoal to surpass France as the 10 seventh-largest economy in the world; and

11 WHEREAS, The Texas oil and natural gas industry paid a record 12 \$27.3 billion in state and local taxes and state royalties in 2024; this revenue supports such essential services as education, 13 14 transportation, and health care, as well as infrastructure via the State Highway Fund, Permanent School Fund, Permanent University 15 Fund, and Economic Stabilization Fund, all of which are funded 16 almost exclusively by the oil and natural gas sector; in fiscal year 17 2024, Texas school districts received \$2.92 billion in property 18 taxes from pipelines, gas utilities, and mineral properties 19 producing oil and natural gas, and Texas counties received \$1.03 20 21 billion in these property taxes; since 2007, when the Texas Oil & Gas Association began compiling this data, the industry has paid 22 23 more than \$257.6 billion in state and local taxes and state royalties; not included in this sum are taxes paid on office 24

1

1 buildings and personal property or hundreds of billions of dollars 2 in payroll; and

3 WHEREAS, Almost 500,000 Texans are directly employed by the 4 oil and gas industry, and they are some of the highest-paid workers 5 in the state; in addition, every direct job creates an additional 6 two roles with nearly 1.4 million total jobs supported across the 7 industry; and

8 WHEREAS, This dynamic industry exerts an enormous ripple 9 effect that benefits other sectors of the economy, improving the 10 prosperity and social progress of communities across Texas and 11 around the world; nearly all of the items we use every day, from 12 pharmaceuticals and electronics to cosmetics and clothing, are made 13 from petroleum products; and

WHEREAS, Thanks to abundant natural resources, generational knowledge, and bold leadership, the Texas oil and gas industry plays a pivotal role in powering modern life, preserving American economic vitality and energy security, and promoting stability for our allies around the globe; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas 20 Legislature hereby recognize February 4, 2025, as Texas Energy Day 21 at the State Capitol and extend to all those associated with the oil 22 and gas industry sincere best wishes for continued success.

Darby

H.R. No. 127

2

Burrows Alders Allen Anchía Ashby Barry Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Curry Darby A. Davis of Dallas Y. Davis of Dallas Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Dyson Fairly Flores Frank Gámez Garcia of Bexar Garcia of Dallas Garcia Hernandez Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris Harris Davila Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Hickland Hinojosa Holt Hopper Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Johnson Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kerwin King Kitzman LaHood Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo Wilson Little Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Louderback Lowe Lozano Lujan Luther Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer McLaughlin McQueeney Metcalf Meyer Meza Money Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Morales Shaw Morgan Muñoz Noble Olcott Oliverson Ordaz Orr Patterson Paul Perez of El Paso Perez of Harris Phelan Pierson Plesa Raymond Reynolds Richardson Rodríguez Ramos Romero Rose Rosenthal Schatzline Schofield Schoolcraft Shaheen Shofner Simmons Slawson Smithee Spiller Swanson Talarico Tepper Thompson Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Villalobos Virdell Vo Walle Ward Johnson Wharton Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 127

H.R. No. 127

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 127 was adopted by the House on February 4, 2025, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House