H.R. No. 135

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Citizens of Howard County are gathering in Austin on

February 6, 2025, to celebrate Howard County Day at the State

3 Capitol; and

2

WHEREAS, Situated on the high plains of West Texas, between

5 the Llano Estacado and the Edwards Plateau and at the crossroads of

6 Interstate 20 and the Ports-to-Plains designated Interstate 27,

7 Howard County is a center for oil and gas production, education,

8 health care, agriculture, transportation, manufacturing, and other

9 diverse industries; established in 1876, the county boasts a rich

10 and expansive history, and today, the area is experiencing new and

11 continuing development as citizens look ahead to the opportunities

12 of the future; and

WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy an array of

14 recreational activities found in the trails and green spaces at Big

15 Spring State Park, Comanche Trail Park, and Moss Lake, and they can

16 learn about Howard County's colorful past at the Heritage Museum,

17 the Hangar 25 Air Museum, and the renovated Historic Big Spring; in

18 addition, the county hosts a number of annual events, such as the

19 Comanche Trail Festival of Lights, which has earned Big Spring

20 designation as the Lighted Poinsettia Capital of Texas; area

21 residents also benefit from the educational opportunities provided

22 by Howard College and the SouthWest College for the Deaf; and

23 WHEREAS, Deeply devoted to their communities and to the land

24 that has shaped them, the residents of Howard County may take

H.R. No. 135

- 1 justifiable pride in their efforts to preserve the area's rich
- 2 heritage and to cultivate a robust quality of life; now, therefore,
- 3 be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 6, 2025, as Howard County Day
- 6 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
- 7 best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Darby

## H.R. No. 135

Burrows Guerra Morales Shaw Guillen Alders Morgan Harless Allen Muñoz Harris Noble Anchía Ashby Harris Davila Olcott Harrison Oliverson Barry Bell of Kaufman Hayes Ordaz Bell of Montgomery Hefner Orr Bernal Hernandez Patterson Bhojani Hickland Paul Perez of El Paso Bonnen Hinojosa Perez of Harris Bowers Holt Bryant Hopper Phelan Buckley Howard Pierson Hull Plesa Bucy Hunter Raymond Bumgarner Button Isaac Reynolds Cain Johnson Richardson Campos Jones of Dallas Rodríguez Ramos Canales Jones of Harris Romero Kerwin Rose Capriglione King Rosenthal Cole Collier Kitzman Schatzline Cook LaHood Schofield Cortez Lalani Schoolcraft Craddick Lambert Shaheen Cunningham Landgraf Shofner Curry Leach Simmons Darby Leo Wilson Slawson A. Davis of Dallas Little Smithee Y. Davis of Dallas Longoria Spiller Lopez of Bexar Swanson DeAyala Lopez of Cameron Talarico Dorazio Louderback Tepper Dutton Lowe Thompson Tinderholt Dyson Lozano Fairly Lujan Toth Troxclair Flores Luther Frank Manuel Turner Gámez Martinez VanDeaver Vasut Garcia of Bexar Martinez Fischer Garcia of Dallas McLaughlin Villalobos Garcia Hernandez McQueeney Virdell Gates Metcalf Vo Gerdes Meyer Walle Geren Meza Ward Johnson Gervin-Hawkins Money Wharton Wilson González of Dallas Moody González of El Paso Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Zwiener

Goodwin

	H.R. NO. 135
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 135 was 6, 2025, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House