RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Baytown are gathering in Austin 2 on February 20, 2025, to take part in Baytown Day at the State 3 Capitol and to celebrate the vibrant community they call home; and WHEREAS, In 1822, Nathaniel Lynch started a ferry service at 4 5 the confluence of the San Jacinto River and Buffalo Bayou near the William Scott, Gulf of Mexico; two years later, 6 Stephen F. Austin's Old 300 settlers, established a homestead 7 nearby, and a community named Bay Town grew up around it; other 8 early settlers included Sam Houston and David G. Burnet, who each 9 served as president of the Republic of Texas, and Mrs. Anson Jones, 10 11 wife of the fourth and final Texas president; and 12 WHEREAS, The area remained mostly rural until 1908, when oil 13 was discovered near Tabbs Bay, and in 1916, the first offshore 14 drilling site in Texas was established near Goose Creek; starting in 1917, two towns, Pelly and Goose Creek, grew up around the oil 15 16 fields, and that same year, Ross S. Sterling founded the Humble Oil and Refining Company, now known as ExxonMobil; in 1923, Humble Oil 17 began laying out streets, installing utilities, and financing homes 18 for its employees; in 1947, Pelly and Goose Creek consolidated, and 19 on January 24, 1948, the city of Baytown was established, with a 20 21 population of nearly 21,000 people; and 22 WHEREAS, Today, Baytown is a dynamic community of more than 23 84,000 residents; its educational institutions include the Goose

Creek Consolidated Independent School District and Lee College, and

24

- 1 it boasts a downtown arts district that features the Baytown Little
- 2 Theater, the Lee College Performing Arts Center, the Art Gallery of
- 3 Baytown, and the Baytown Public Art Program; visitors are drawn by
- 4 the opportunities for fishing, boating, and kayaking, and wildlife
- 5 and birding enthusiasts enjoy the opportunities offered by the
- 6 Baytown Nature Center and the Eddie V. Gray Wetlands Education and
- 7 Recreation Center; other popular destinations in the area include
- 8 the Baytown Historical Museum and the Baytown Sculpture Trail; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Among Baytown's notable natives are such figures as
- 10 Pastor John Hagee, actor Gary Busey, former Houston mayor Bob
- 11 Lanier, rock and roll musician Bobby Fuller, professional football
- 12 player Howard Sampson, tennis great Sherwood Stewart, and singer
- 13 and The Voice contestant RaeLynn; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The city and its residents benefit from the capable
- 15 leadership of Mayor Charles Johnson and the six members of the city
- 16 council, Laura Alvarado, Sarah Graham, Ken Griffith, James Franco,
- 17 Jacob Powell, and Mike Lester; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich and colorful history as they
- 19 work together to build an even brighter tomorrow, the citizens of
- 20 Baytown may take justifiable pride in the important role their
- 21 community continues to play in the story of the Lone Star State;
- 22 now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby recognize February 20, 2025, as Baytown Day at
- 25 the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting
- 26 delegation.

Cain

Burrows Alders	Guerra Guillen	Morales Shaw Morgan
Allen Anchía	Harless	Muñoz Noble
Ashby	Harris Harris Davila	Olcott
Barry	Harrison	Oliverson
Bell of Kaufman		Ordaz
Bell of Montgomery	Hayes Hefner	Orr
Bernal	Hernandez	Patterson
Bhojani	Hickland	Paul
Bonnen	Hinojosa	Perez of El Paso
Bowers	Holt	Perez of Harris
Bryant	Hopper	Phelan
Buckley	Howard	Pierson
Bucy	Hull	Plesa
Bumgarner	Hunter	Raymond
Button	Isaac	Reynolds
Cain	Johnson	Richardson
Campos	Jones of Dallas	Rodríguez Ramos
Canales	Jones of Harris	Romero
Capriglione	Kerwin	Rose
Cole	King	Rosenthal
Collier	Kitzman	Schatzline
Cook	LaHood	Schofield
Cortez	Lalani	Schoolcraft
Craddick	Lambert	Shaheen
Cunningham	Landgraf	Shofner
Curry	Leach	Simmons
Darby	Leo Wilson	Slawson
A. Davis of Dallas	Little	Smithee
Y. Davis of Dallas	Longoria	Spiller
Dean	Lopez of Bexar	Swanson
DeAyala	Lopez of Cameron	Talarico
Dorazio	Louderback	Tepper
Dutton	Lowe	Thompson
Dyson	Lozano	Tinderholt
Fairly	Lujan	Toth
Flores	Luther	Troxclair
Frank	Manuel	Turner
Gámez	Martinez Martinez Fischer	VanDeaver
Garcia of Bexar Garcia of Dallas		Vasut Villalobos
Garcia of Dallas Garcia Hernandez	McLaughlin McQueeney	Virdell
Gates	Metcalf	Vildell Vo
Gerdes	Meyer	Walle
Geren	Meza	Ward Johnson
Gervin-Hawkins	Money	Wharton
González of Dallas	Moody	Wilson
González of El Paso	Morales of Harris	Wu
Goodwin	Morales of Maverick	Zwiener

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 139 was	adopted by the House on February
20, 2025, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House