H.R. No. 172

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Chapter of the Recording 2 Academy are gathering in Austin on February 18, 2025, in 3 celebration of the unique musical heritage of our state; and

WHEREAS, The birthplace of such distinctive styles as Texas 4 5 country and Tejano, the Lone Star State has produced culturally significant artists in every musical genre; at the Recording 6 7 Academy's 67th annual Grammy Awards and 25th annual Latin Grammy Awards, Texas nominees and winners across multiple categories 8 9 included Beyoncé, Erykah Badu, Kirk Franklin, Post Malone, Charley Crockett, Yolanda Adams, Khruangbin, Sue Foley, Ruthie Foster, 10 11 Sangeeta Kaur, Israel and New Breed, Jamestown Revival, Shauna and 12 Sarah Dodds, Grupo Frontera, Entocable, and El Plan, along with many who work behind the scenes, among them producers, engineers, 13 14 and songwriters; and

WHEREAS, A number of Texas artists have been honored in 15 recent years with the prestigious Recording Academy Lifetime 16 Achievement Award, including Corpus Christi 17 native Selena Quintanilla-Perez and Dallas/Fort Worth native DJ Spinderella as a 18 member of Salt-N-Pepa; in addition, Texas claimed back-to-back 19 20 recipients of the academy's Music Educator of the Year Award with 21 2023 honoree Pamela Dawson, director of choral music at DeSoto High 22 School, and 2022 winner Stephen Cox, director of bands for Advanced 23 Learning Academy and Fox Tech and CAST Tech High Schools in San 24 Antonio; and

1

## H.R. No. 172

1 WHEREAS, Established in 1998, the Texas Chapter of the 2 Recording Academy is dedicated to advancing music education, which 3 enriches the lives of countless students, and promoting an industry 4 that generates tens of billions of dollars for the state; tied to an 5 estimated 210,000-plus jobs, the economic sector is also supported 6 by the efforts of the Texas Music Office, created by the Texas 7 Legislature for that purpose; and

8 WHEREAS, The music industry enhances the prosperity of the 9 Lone Star State and contributes significantly to the vibrancy of 10 American culture, and it is a pleasure to acknowledge its important 11 role; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 18, 2025, as Texas Music Advocacy Day at the State Capitol and extend sincere best wishes for continued success to the members of the Texas Chapter of the Recording Academy.

Hunter

2

Burrows Alders Allen Anchía Ashby Barry Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Curry Darby A. Davis of Dallas Y. Davis of Dallas Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Dyson Fairly Flores Frank Gámez Garcia of Bexar Garcia of Dallas Garcia Hernandez Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris Harris Davila Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Hickland Hinojosa Holt Hopper Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Johnson Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kerwin King Kitzman LaHood Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo Wilson Little Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Louderback Lowe Lozano Lujan Luther Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer McLaughlin McQueeney Metcalf Meyer Meza Money Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Morales Shaw Morgan Muñoz Noble Olcott Oliverson Ordaz Orr Patterson Paul Perez of El Paso Perez of Harris Phelan Pierson Plesa Raymond Reynolds Richardson Rodríguez Ramos Romero Rose Rosenthal Schatzline Schofield Schoolcraft Shaheen Shofner Simmons Slawson Smithee Spiller Swanson Talarico Tepper Thompson Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Villalobos Virdell Vo Walle Ward Johnson Wharton Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 172

H.R. No. 172

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 172 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2025, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House