H.R. No. 180

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The 89th Legislative Session Member Football Game
 was played on the evening of February 4th, 2025 at Darrell K.
 Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium; and

WHEREAS, Friends, family, legislative staff, former players,
University of Texas personnel, students, and Bevo were all in
attendance to witness the House Freshmen take on the House Veterans
in a spirited game of flag football; and

8 WHEREAS, Excessive smack talk was had before the game from 9 Members of the Veterans team to their new colleagues in the Texas 10 House over the three several days; and

11 WHEREAS, Sacrifices were made on both sides of this gridiron 12 contest, including freshman Rep. Wesley Virdell's shoulder, 13 leading to a late-night visit to a local hospital, and Veteran Rep. 14 Briscoe Cain's face, stemming from an improbable spinning touchdown 15 attempt rarely seen outside professional sports; and

16 WHEREAS, Heroes arose on both teams, such as the leaping 17 acrobatics of freshman Rep. Daniel Alders, and the sweetness of the 18 jukes and ankles broken by Veteran Rep. Ramon Romero; and

19 WHEREAS, As the clock expired, one team stood victorious-The20 Texas House Freshmen; and

21 WHEREAS, Veterans like Rep. Matt Shaheen and David Cook 22 attempted to turn back the tide of inevitability with determined 23 on-the-field playmaking, it was simply too late; and

24 WHEREAS, The triumphant Texas House Freshmen may have much to

1

1 learn about the ways of the Texas House, and the art of passing 2 legislation-from knowing when to take timeouts and knowing when to 3 go for it on Fourth Down; and

WHEREAS, The Freshman House Team took pity on the senior squad, fielding an all-female lineup in the concluding plays of the game; and

7 WHEREAS, The final seconds ticked away, with them, so did the 8 exuberant smack talk of the old-timers; so be it

9 RESOLVED, That the Texas House of Representatives of the 89th 10 Texas Legislature hereby recognizes the achievements of the House 11 Freshmen, winning the first such game against the pensioned 12 Veterans in twelve years.

Pierson

H.R. No. 180

2

Burrows Alders Allen Anchía Ashby Barry Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Curry Darby A. Davis of Dallas Y. Davis of Dallas Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Dyson Fairly Flores Frank Gámez Garcia of Bexar Garcia of Dallas Garcia Hernandez Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris Harris Davila Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Hickland Hinojosa Holt Hopper Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Johnson Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kerwin King Kitzman LaHood Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo Wilson Little Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Louderback Lowe Lozano Lujan Luther Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer McLaughlin McQueeney Metcalf Meyer Meza Money Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Morales Shaw Morgan Muñoz Noble Olcott Oliverson Ordaz Orr Patterson Paul Perez of El Paso Perez of Harris Phelan Pierson Plesa Raymond Reynolds Richardson Rodríguez Ramos Romero Rose Rosenthal Schatzline Schofield Schoolcraft Shaheen Shofner Simmons Slawson Smithee Spiller Swanson Talarico Tepper Thompson Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Villalobos Virdell Vo Walle Ward Johnson Wharton Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 180

H.R. No. 180

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 180 was adopted by the House on February 5, 2025, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House