RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, For 125 years, the El Paso Chamber of Commerce has
- 2 taken the lead in promoting economic prosperity and shaping local
- 3 policy, and El Paso business leaders and policymakers are visiting
- 4 Austin for El Paso Days at the State Capitol on February 18 and 19,
- 5 2025; and
- 6 WHEREAS, El Paso is uniquely situated between two nations and
- 7 three states, making the city the largest binational metroplex in
- 8 the United States; the surrounding region is one of the largest
- 9 manufacturing centers in North America, and the El Paso ports of
- 10 entry account for approximately 20 percent of the state's total
- 11 trade activity; and
- WHEREAS, Designated as a Great American Defense Community,
- 13 the City of El Paso is recognized for its strong support of service
- 14 members, veterans, and their families through community
- 15 integration, economic opportunities, and a high quality of life; El
- 16 Paso continues to foster innovation, workforce development, and
- 17 collaboration, ensuring a welcoming and thriving environment for
- 18 those who serve our nation; in addition, the City of El Paso's
- 19 efforts in economic development were recently recognized with the
- 20 Excellence in Economic Development Gold Award by the International
- 21 Economic Development Council, highlighting its groundbreaking
- 22 workforce programs and commitment to creating sustainable
- 23 employment opportunities for all residents; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at El Paso has achieved the

- 1 prestigious R1 designation from the Carnegie Classification of
- 2 Institutions of Higher Education, which recognizes its outstanding
- 3 research activity; Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El
- 4 Paso, a stand-alone health sciences center, is home to the Paul L.
- 5 Foster School of Medicine, the first four-year medical school along
- 6 the U.S.-Mexico border; the University Medical Center of El Paso
- 7 houses the region's only Level 1 trauma center and serves as the
- 8 primary teaching institution for TTUHSC El Paso; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Borderplex region encompasses three significant
- 10 military installations: Fort Bliss in El Paso, one of the largest
- 11 military complexes in the United States and home to the 1st Armored
- 12 Division, "America's Tank Division"; White Sands Missile Range in
- 13 New Mexico, the Department of Defense's largest fully instrumented
- 14 open-air range; and Holloman Air Force Base near Alamogordo, New
- 15 Mexico, a key installation of the Air Education and Training
- 16 Command; given the El Paso region's rich military history,
- 17 continued partnership with Fort Bliss, and steadfast commitment to
- 18 veterans, El Paso County declared itself the "Veterans Capital of
- 19 the U.S.A." on November 1, 2022; and
- 20 WHEREAS, The El Paso region is driving innovation and
- 21 economic expansion through strategic investments in advanced
- 22 manufacturing, aerospace, and defense; with a strong foundation
- 23 built on collaboration between industry leaders, academic
- 24 institutions, and local government, El Paso is emerging as a hub for
- 25 high-tech research, workforce development, and sustainable
- 26 economic growth; the region continues to attract new opportunities
- 27 that strengthen its position as a leader in global supply chains and

- 1 next-generation manufacturing; and
- 2 WHEREAS, An area with a rich and fascinating heritage, El
- 3 Paso has contributed immeasurably to the story of the Lone Star
- 4 State, and its citizens take great pride in the extraordinary
- 5 region they call home; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 18 and 19, 2025, as El Paso
- 8 Days at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation
- 9 sincere best wishes for a memorable and meaningful event.

Moody González of El Paso Ordaz Morales of Maverick Perez of El Paso

Burrows Guerra Morales Shaw Guillen Alders Morgan Allen Harless Muñoz Harris Noble Anchía Ashby Harris Davila Olcott Harrison Oliverson Barry Bell of Kaufman Hayes Ordaz Bell of Montgomery Hefner Orr Bernal Hernandez Patterson Bhojani Hickland Paul Perez of El Paso Bonnen Hinojosa Perez of Harris Bowers Holt Bryant Hopper Phelan Buckley Howard Pierson Hull Plesa Bucy Hunter Raymond Bumgarner Button Isaac Reynolds Cain Johnson Richardson Campos Jones of Dallas Rodríguez Ramos Canales Jones of Harris Romero Kerwin Rose Capriglione King Rosenthal Cole Collier Kitzman Schatzline Cook LaHood Schofield Cortez Lalani Schoolcraft Craddick Lambert Shaheen Cunningham Landgraf Shofner Curry Leach Simmons Darby Leo Wilson Slawson A. Davis of Dallas Little Smithee Y. Davis of Dallas Longoria Spiller Lopez of Bexar Swanson Lopez of Cameron Talarico DeAyala Tepper Dorazio Louderback Dutton Lowe Thompson Tinderholt Dyson Lozano Fairly Lujan Toth Troxclair Flores Luther Frank Manuel Turner Gámez Martinez VanDeaver Garcia of Bexar Martinez Fischer Vasut Garcia of Dallas McLaughlin Villalobos McQueeney Garcia Hernandez Virdell Gates Metcalf Vo Gerdes Meyer Walle Geren Meza Ward Johnson Gervin-Hawkins Money Wharton Wilson González of Dallas Moody González of El Paso Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Zwiener

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 188
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 188 was 19, 2025, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House