H.R. No. 189

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Honorable John Raney retired from the Texas

House of Representatives in January 2025, following an exemplary

3 tenure spanning seven terms in office; and

2

5

WHEREAS, First elected in December 2011 to fill an unexpired

term, Mr. Raney demonstrated a strong commitment to education; he

6 worked successfully to secure funding for Texas A&M University and

7 mobile STEM labs, and he sought to make community college reporting

8 more transparent and remove barriers to accessing workforce

9 development; in addition, he focused on student veteran

10 protections, as well as veteran job transition; he also advocated

11 for individuals with developmental disabilities and promoted the

12 safety and quality of child care; his efforts extended as well to

13 energy efficiency savings for state buildings and a Good Samaritan

14 protection for anyone who calls 9-1-1 in behalf of an individual

15 appearing to have experienced a drug overdose; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Raney was appointed by the Speaker to the Energy

17 Council, and he was a member of numerous legislative caucuses;

18 among other leadership roles, he served as vice chair of the

19 Transportation, Higher Education, and Economic Development and

20 Regulatory Committees; during multiple terms on the Higher

21 Education and Appropriations Committees, he shared his expertise

22 with numerous important subcommittees; and

23 WHEREAS, A sixth-generation Texan, Mr. Raney was born in

24 Huntsville in 1947 and grew up on land his family had farmed in

H.R. No. 189

- 1 Madison County for over 125 years; while completing his bachelor's
- 2 degree in marketing at Texas A&M University, he established Texas
- 3 Aggieland Bookstore, which is still in operation today; he served
- 4 as a first lieutenant in the Texas Army National Guard from 1969 to
- 5 1975; entering politics in the early 1970s, he served as chair of
- 6 the Republican Party of Brazos County and Senatorial District 5
- 7 Caucus; he benefited the business community as a longtime member of
- 8 the board of the Texas Retailers Association, and he was especially
- 9 involved in its Tax and Legislative Committee and Executive
- 10 Committee; in 2010, the association named him its Outstanding
- 11 Member; he was also a member of the board of the National Federation
- 12 of Independent Business; and
- WHEREAS, Through his exemplary public service, John Raney
- 14 earned the lasting respect of his colleagues and the appreciation
- of his fellow citizens, and he may reflect with justifiable pride on
- 16 his many contributions; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby honor former state representative John Raney for
- 19 his service and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future;
- 20 and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Mr. Raney as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives.

Dyson

## H.R. No. 189

Burrows Guerra Morales Shaw Guillen Alders Morgan Harless Allen Muñoz Harris Noble Anchía Ashby Harris Davila Olcott Harrison Oliverson Barry Bell of Kaufman Hayes Ordaz Bell of Montgomery Hefner Orr Bernal Hernandez Patterson Bhojani Hickland Paul Perez of El Paso Bonnen Hinojosa Perez of Harris Bowers Holt Bryant Hopper Phelan Buckley Howard Pierson Hull Plesa Bucy Hunter Raymond Bumgarner Button Isaac Reynolds Cain Johnson Richardson Campos Jones of Dallas Rodríguez Ramos Canales Jones of Harris Romero Kerwin Rose Capriglione King Rosenthal Cole Collier Kitzman Schatzline Cook LaHood Schofield Cortez Lalani Schoolcraft Craddick Lambert Shaheen Cunningham Landgraf Shofner Curry Leach Simmons Darby Leo Wilson Slawson A. Davis of Dallas Little Smithee Y. Davis of Dallas Longoria Spiller Lopez of Bexar Swanson DeAyala Lopez of Cameron Talarico Dorazio Louderback Tepper Dutton Lowe Thompson Tinderholt Dyson Lozano Fairly Lujan Toth Troxclair Flores Luther Frank Manuel Turner Gámez Martinez VanDeaver Garcia of Bexar Martinez Fischer Vasut Garcia of Dallas McLaughlin Villalobos Garcia Hernandez McQueeney Virdell Gates Metcalf Vo Gerdes Meyer Walle Geren Meza Ward Johnson Gervin-Hawkins Money Wharton Wilson González of Dallas Moody González of El Paso Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Zwiener

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 189
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 189 was 6, 2025, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House