H.R. No. 276

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A delegation from Prairie View A&M University is
visiting Austin on February 18, 2025, in celebration of Prairie
View A&M University Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The second-oldest public institution of higher education in Texas, Prairie View A&M University traces its origins to 1876, when it was established by the 15th Texas Legislature as Alta Vista Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas for Colored Youth; at that time, the board of directors of the Agricultural and Mechanical College at Bryan was responsible for its management; and

WHEREAS, The institution opened a campus in Prairie View on 10 March 11, 1878, and welcomed its first class of students, which 11 12 included eight young African American men; it was originally designated as a normal school for the training of teachers, but 13 14 after it was approved as a branch campus of the Agricultural Experiment Station and as a Land Grant College, its curriculum 15 expanded to include the arts and sciences, home economics, 16 agriculture, mechanical arts, and nursing; a four-year senior 17 college program was introduced in 1919, and a division of graduate 18 studies, which offered master's degrees in agricultural economics, 19 school administration, and other subjects, was added in 1937; by an 20 21 act of the 63rd Texas Legislature, the institution adopted its present-day name, Prairie View A&M University, in 1973; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Prairie View A&M has grown considerably over the 24 course of its long history, and during the fall 2024 semester, it

1

## H.R. No. 276

posted a record-breaking enrollment of nearly 9,900 students; since its inception, it has awarded some 46,000 academic degrees; today, the university benefits from the able leadership of its president, Dr. Tomikia LeGrande, and offers more than 70 degree programs through its eight colleges and schools; situated on a picturesque campus in rural Prairie View, it welcomes students from across the United States and from many foreign countries; and

8 WHEREAS, Among its many accomplishments, Prairie View A&M is 9 one of just 11 Historically Black Colleges and Universities to hold 10 the R2 Carnegie Melon Distinction, which recognizes institutions 11 for their contributions to doctoral research; and

12 WHEREAS, Prairie View A&M University has provided countless 13 students with a strong foundation for achievement, and it is a 14 pleasure to join in honoring the institution on this special 15 occasion; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas 17 Legislature hereby recognize February 18, 2025, as Prairie View A&M 18 University Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those 19 affiliated with the institution sincere best wishes for the future; 20 and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for Prairie View A&M as an expression of high regard by the 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Kitzman

2

Burrows Alders Allen Anchía Ashby Barry Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Curry Darby A. Davis of Dallas Y. Davis of Dallas Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Dyson Fairly Flores Frank Gámez Garcia of Bexar Garcia of Dallas Garcia Hernandez Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris Harris Davila Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Hickland Hinojosa Holt Hopper Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Johnson Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kerwin King Kitzman LaHood Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo Wilson Little Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Louderback Lowe Lozano Lujan Luther Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer McLaughlin McQueeney Metcalf Meyer Meza Money Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Morales Shaw Morgan Muñoz Noble Olcott Oliverson Ordaz Orr Patterson Paul Perez of El Paso Perez of Harris Phelan Pierson Plesa Raymond Reynolds Richardson Rodríguez Ramos Romero Rose Rosenthal Schatzline Schofield Schoolcraft Shaheen Shofner Simmons Slawson Smithee Spiller Swanson Talarico Tepper Thompson Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Villalobos Virdell Vo Walle Ward Johnson Wharton Wilson Wu Zwiener

## H.R. No. 276

H.R. No. 276

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 276 was adopted by the House on February 18, 2025, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House