H.R. No. 290

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Recording star Cody Daniel Johnson, an East Texas 2 native who is as comfortable in the rodeo arena as he is on a 3 performance stage, has enjoyed a meteoric rise to the top of the 4 country music industry; and

5 WHEREAS, Affectionately known as "CoJo," Cody Johnson was 6 born in Sebastopol and grew up on a ranch; he began competing in 7 rodeo bull riding at age 14 and is now a formidable competitor in 8 team roping; he honed his skills on the music circuit in the Lone 9 Star State, releasing six independent albums before signing with 10 CoJo Music/Warner Music Nashville and making his major label debut 11 with Ain't Nothin' To It in 2019; and

12 WHEREAS, Today, with nine studio albums under his belt, Mr. Johnson is a multiplatinum artist and one of the most 13 14 celebrated singer/songwriters in country music; he has garnered many accolades, including recognitions as a Country Music 15 Television Music Artist of The Year and Best New Country Artist at 16 the 2023 iHeartRadio Music Awards; his smash hit "'Til You Can't" 17 collected the 2023 Grammy Award for Best Country Song and CMA honors 18 as the Single and Music Video of the Year, and it was also selected 19 20 as the CMT Male Video and Performance of the Year; most recently, 21 his acclaimed record Leather was named the 2024 Album of the Year at the Country Music Association Awards; and 22

23 WHEREAS, One of the most compelling vocalists of his 24 generation, Mr. Johnson delivers lyrics with raw vulnerability,

1

H.R. No. 290

1 drawing listeners into heartfelt songs; one such recording, "Dirt Cheap," was selected as the Storyteller Song of the Year at the 2024 2 3 People's Choice Country Awards and reached No. 1 on the radio; in addition, he has racked up some 8.5 billion global career streams, a 4 5 number boosted by hits including "The Painter" and "I'm Gonna Love You," a duet with Carrie Underwood; he is currently on the road for 6 his Leather Deluxe Tour; respected for his strong moral code and 7 8 work ethic, he supports education and community development causes while promoting the sport of rodeo and mentoring young riders; in 9 10 all his endeavors, he enjoys the love and support of his wife, Brandi, and they live on their East Texas ranch with their two 11 12 daughters; and

13 WHEREAS, Cody Johnson is a source of tremendous pride to his 14 fellow Texans, and it is indeed fitting to honor him for his career 15 achievements at this time; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas 17 Legislature hereby congratulate Cody Daniel Johnson on his 18 exceptional success in country music and extend to him sincere best 19 wishes for the future; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for Mr. Johnson as an expression of high regard by the 22 Texas House of Representatives.

Harless

2

Burrows Alders Allen Anchía Ashby Barry Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Curry Darby A. Davis of Dallas Y. Davis of Dallas Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Dyson Fairly Flores Frank Gámez Garcia of Bexar Garcia of Dallas Garcia Hernandez Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris Harris Davila Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Hickland Hinojosa Holt Hopper Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Johnson Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kerwin King Kitzman LaHood Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo Wilson Little Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Louderback Lowe Lozano Lujan Luther Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer McLaughlin McQueeney Metcalf Meyer Meza Money Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Morales Shaw Morgan Muñoz Noble Olcott Oliverson Ordaz Orr Patterson Paul Perez of El Paso Perez of Harris Phelan Pierson Plesa Raymond Reynolds Richardson Rodríguez Ramos Romero Rose Rosenthal Schatzline Schofield Schoolcraft Shaheen Shofner Simmons Slawson Smithee Spiller Swanson Talarico Tepper Thompson Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Villalobos Virdell Vo Walle Ward Johnson Wharton Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 290

H.R. No. 290

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 290 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2025, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House