H.R. No. 299

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A distinguished delegation from South Texas is
visiting Austin on February 19, 2025, to celebrate Rio Grande
Valley Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Enjoying a strategic location on the Gulf of Mexico and along the Mexican border, the Rio Grande Valley was an important ranching region when Texas became the nation's 28th state in 1845; over time, the economy shifted from ranching to agriculture, and the Valley became the state's center of citrus and vegetable production; and

WHEREAS, In the 1960s, industry flourished and international 10 11 trade became increasingly prominent; the region has contributed 12 significantly to the tremendous increase in commerce across the United States-Mexico border, with more than 1.15 million trucks, 13 14 11.7 million cars carrying 24.3 million passengers, 28,000 buses carrying over 300,000 passengers, and 6.2 million pedestrians 15 16 crossing Rio Grande Valley ports of entry and averaging more than \$140 million in goods and services per day, with over \$51 billion in 17 commercial trade per year flowing across various land ports of 18 entry; the Rio Grande Valley is an economic powerhouse for the State 19 of Texas with approximately \$47.16 billion in taxable sales 20 21 recorded in reporting year 2024; and

WHEREAS, The Valley has around 1.4 million residents, with approximately 565,000 individuals under the age of 25, and local and state officials have focused on the need to expand access to

1

H.R. No. 299

1 higher education and health care, strengthen the workforce, 2 increase transportation and ports of entry infrastructure, and 3 increase funding for public education; The University of Texas Rio 4 Grande Valley serves some 35,000 students; the UTRGV School of 5 Medicine is in its ninth year of operation with numerous GME 6 programs and patient care sites; and

7 WHEREAS, The six higher education institutions in the Rio 8 Grande Valley, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, the Texas 9 A&M University Higher Education Center at McAllen, the Texas A&M 10 University Health Science Center, South Texas College, Texas 11 Southmost College, and Texas State Technical College, serve a 12 student population of more than 100,000; and

WHEREAS, Major sponsors for the day's legislative event include the Texas Regional Bank, UTRGV, the Edinburg Economic Development Corporation, Linebarger Attorneys at Law, Charter Communications, the City of Edinburg, Texas Gas Service, the Texas International Produce Association, AEP, Raise Your Hand Texas, NextDecade, Doctors Hospital at Renaissance, and AT&T, all of which are promoting greater regional cooperation in the 21st century; and

20 WHEREAS, A vibrant region with a rich heritage, the Rio 21 Grande Valley is poised to take advantage of tremendous 22 opportunities for continued economic development, and it is indeed 23 most fitting to honor Valley residents for their dedication to 24 building a bright and prosperous future for the area; now, 25 therefore, be it

26 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas 27 Legislature hereby recognize February 19, 2025, as Rio Grande

2

H.R. No. 2991 Valley Day at the State Capitol and extend to all participants2 sincere best wishes for a productive and enjoyable visit.

Guillen

Burrows Alders Allen Anchía Ashby Barry Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Curry Darby A. Davis of Dallas Y. Davis of Dallas Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Dyson Fairly Flores Frank Gámez Garcia of Bexar Garcia of Dallas Garcia Hernandez Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris Harris Davila Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Hickland Hinojosa Holt Hopper Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Johnson Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kerwin King Kitzman LaHood Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo Wilson Little Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Louderback Lowe Lozano Lujan Luther Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer McLaughlin McQueeney Metcalf Meyer Meza Money Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick

Morales Shaw Morgan Muñoz Noble Olcott Oliverson Ordaz Orr Patterson Paul Perez of El Paso Perez of Harris Phelan Pierson Plesa Raymond Reynolds Richardson Rodríguez Ramos Romero Rose Rosenthal Schatzline Schofield Schoolcraft Shaheen Shofner Simmons Slawson Smithee Spiller Swanson Talarico Tepper Thompson Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Villalobos Virdell Vo Walle Ward Johnson Wharton Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 299

H.R. No. 299

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 299 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2025, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House