H.R. No. 314

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Asian American Pacific Islander
- 2 community are gathering in Austin on February 24, 2025, for AAPI Day
- 3 of Action at the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, The umbrella term "AAPI" refers to Pacific Islander,
- 5 Southeast Asian, South Asian, West Asian, Central Asian, and East
- 6 Asian cultures, and it encompasses some 50 different ethnicities
- 7 and more than 300 languages and dialects; and
- 8 WHEREAS, In Texas, the AAPI population numbers approximately
- 9 two million, having grown significantly since 2000; Harris, Collin,
- 10 and Fort Bend Counties have the highest number of AAPI residents;
- 11 the top five Asian languages spoken in the state are Vietnamese,
- 12 Chinese, Hindi, Tagalog, and Urdu, and among the many others are
- 13 Samoan, Chamorro, Tongan, Hawaiian, Chuukese, and Marshallese; and
- 14 WHEREAS, AAPI Day of Action provides an opportunity for AAPI
- 15 Texans to raise awareness of the issues important to them, while
- 16 also building community among the collaborative of nonprofit
- 17 organizations known as Asian Americans for Texas (AAFT); these
- 18 groups include the South Asian American Voter Empowerment of Texas
- 19 Education Fund, Asian Texans for Justice, OCA-Greater Houston,
- 20 Woori Juntos, and Emgage; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Members of the Asian American Pacific Islander
- 22 community contribute to the vibrancy and prosperity of the Lone
- 23 Star State in myriad ways, and the participants in this advocacy day
- 24 are demonstrating their commitment to making an even greater

H.R. No. 314

- 1 positive impact in the years ahead; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby recognize February 24, 2025, as AAPI Day of
- 4 Action at the State Capitol.

Lalani Button Bhojani Wu

## H.R. No. 314

Burrows Guerra Morales Shaw Guillen Alders Morgan Harless Allen Muñoz Harris Noble Anchía Ashby Harris Davila Olcott Harrison Oliverson Barry Bell of Kaufman Hayes Ordaz Bell of Montgomery Hefner Orr Bernal Hernandez Patterson Bhojani Hickland Paul Perez of El Paso Bonnen Hinojosa Perez of Harris Bowers Holt Bryant Hopper Phelan Buckley Howard Pierson Hull Plesa Bucy Hunter Raymond Bumgarner Button Isaac Reynolds Cain Johnson Richardson Campos Jones of Dallas Rodríguez Ramos Jones of Harris Canales Romero Kerwin Rose Capriglione King Rosenthal Cole Collier Kitzman Schatzline Cook LaHood Schofield Cortez Lalani Schoolcraft Craddick Lambert Shaheen Cunningham Landgraf Shofner Curry Leach Simmons Darby Leo Wilson Slawson A. Davis of Dallas Little Smithee Y. Davis of Dallas Longoria Spiller Lopez of Bexar Swanson DeAyala Lopez of Cameron Talarico Dorazio Louderback Tepper Dutton Lowe Thompson Tinderholt Dyson Lozano Fairly Lujan Toth Troxclair Flores Luther Frank Manuel Turner Gámez Martinez VanDeaver Garcia of Bexar Vasut Martinez Fischer Garcia of Dallas McLaughlin Villalobos Garcia Hernandez McQueeney Virdell Gates Metcalf Vo Gerdes Meyer Walle Geren Meza Ward Johnson Gervin-Hawkins Money Wharton Wilson González of Dallas Moody González of El Paso Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Goodwin Zwiener

	H.R. No. 314
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 314 was	adopted by the House on February
20, 2025, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House