H.R. No. 317

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Representatives from Tarleton State University are
- 2 gathering at the State Capitol on February 20, 2025, to celebrate
- 3 the school's more than 125 years of excellence; and
- WHEREAS, Tarleton State traces its origins back to 1899, when
- 5 it was established as John Tarleton College, and in 1917, it became
- 6 part of The Texas A&M University System as John Tarleton
- 7 Agricultural College; the institution was renamed Tarleton State
- 8 College in 1949, and it assumed its current name in 1973; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Tarleton has grown considerably over the course of
- 10 $\,$ its long history, and during the fall 2024 semester, it posted a
- 11 record-breaking enrollment of approximately 18,000 students; with
- 12 campuses in Stephenville, Fort Worth, Waco, and Bryan, the
- 13 university offers nearly 130 programs of study, including a robust
- 14 online program, and it boasts a student-to-faculty ratio of 23:1;
- 15 under the able guidance of president Dr. James Hurley, Tarleton
- 16 also anticipates a number of exciting initiatives in the future,
- 17 including the construction of a new Agriculture Building, the
- 18 establishment of the Center for Rural Resilience, and further
- 19 expansion of the Fort Worth campus; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Among its many other achievements, Tarleton State
- 21 successfully completed its four-year NCAA Division I
- 22 reclassification period, and in 2024, it was ranked as one of the
- 23 nation's best colleges by Money magazine; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Tarleton State University has provided countless

H.R. No. 317

- 1 students with a strong foundation for achievement, and it is a
- 2 pleasure to join in honoring the institution's commitment to its
- 3 mission of inspiring discovery, leadership, and service through
- 4 educational excellence; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby recognize February 20, 2025, as Tarleton State
- 7 University Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those
- 8 affiliated with the institution sincere best wishes for the future.

Slawson

H.R. No. 317

Burrows Guerra Morales Shaw Guillen Alders Morgan Harless Allen Muñoz Harris Noble Anchía Ashby Harris Davila Olcott Harrison Oliverson Barry Bell of Kaufman Hayes Ordaz Bell of Montgomery Hefner Orr Bernal Hernandez Patterson Bhojani Hickland Paul Perez of El Paso Bonnen Hinojosa Perez of Harris Bowers Holt Bryant Hopper Phelan Buckley Howard Pierson Hull Plesa Bucy Hunter Raymond Bumgarner Button Isaac Reynolds Cain Johnson Richardson Campos Jones of Dallas Rodríguez Ramos Jones of Harris Canales Romero Kerwin Rose Capriglione King Rosenthal Cole Collier Kitzman Schatzline Cook LaHood Schofield Cortez Lalani Schoolcraft Craddick Lambert Shaheen Cunningham Landgraf Shofner Curry Leach Simmons Darby Leo Wilson Slawson A. Davis of Dallas Little Smithee Y. Davis of Dallas Longoria Spiller Lopez of Bexar Swanson DeAyala Lopez of Cameron Talarico Dorazio Louderback Tepper Dutton Lowe Thompson Tinderholt Dyson Lozano Fairly Lujan Toth Troxclair Flores Luther Frank Manuel Turner Gámez Martinez VanDeaver Garcia of Bexar Vasut Martinez Fischer Garcia of Dallas McLaughlin Villalobos Garcia Hernandez McQueeney Virdell Gates Metcalf Vo Gerdes Meyer Walle Geren Meza Ward Johnson Gervin-Hawkins Money Wharton Wilson González of Dallas Moody González of El Paso Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Goodwin Zwiener

	H.R. NO. 31/
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 317 was	adopted by the House on February
20, 2025, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House