By: Holt H.R. No. 321

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The national TeenPact Leadership Schools

2 organization has rendered exceptional service to youth across

3 Texas; and

WHEREAS, TeenPact traces its history to 1993, when founder

5 Tim Echols first shared his idea for a program that would bring

6 young people to the Georgia State Capitol to learn about the

7 political process; 18 students met there for the organization's

8 first class in 1994, and the following year, they served as peer

9 mentors for the next cohort of students; the organization

10 eventually expanded to serve all 50 states, and in Texas, more than

11 5,000 students have participated in its classes over the past

12 decade; and

WHEREAS, Today, TeenPact offers a number of opportunities for

14 leadership training to students ages 8 to 19; the organization

15 features single-day classes for young students and their families

16 as well as four-day courses on state government that take place at

17 each state's capitol, and it also hosts workshops on political

18 communication and alumni events; in Texas, TeenPact's involvement

19 in the legislature has provided invaluable opportunities for

20 students to interact with elected officials, participate in mock

21 legislative sessions, and develop skills in public speaking and

22 critical thinking; and

23 WHEREAS, TeenPact's innovative educational programs have

24 empowered countless young Texans to become informed and engaged

H.R. No. 321

- 1 citizens, and it is a pleasure to join in recognizing the
- 2 organization for its efforts to inspire future generations of
- 3 leaders; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby honor TeenPact Leadership Schools for its
- 6 service to Texas youth and extend to all those associated with the
- 7 organization sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.