By: Dyson H.R. No. 910

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Students from several member institutions of The 2 Texas A&M University System are providing valuable support to the 89th Texas Legislature while gaining experience in public service 3 as members of the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy 4 5 Internship Program, the Public Policy Internship Program, the Bush School of Government and Public Service Capstone Scholars Program, 6 7 the School of Law Residency Externship Program in Public Policy, and the Tarleton State University internship program; and 8 9 WHEREAS, For over three decades, the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program has sent students from the 10 11 Texas A&M University College of Agriculture & Life Sciences to Austin, Washington, D.C., and abroad to work on a wide array of 12 issues; their strong background and interest in agriculture and 13 14 natural resources allow them to offer specialized knowledge to offices; more than 1,200 students have participated in this program 15 16 to date; the current ANRP interns are Audrey Burchett, Caitlin Castro, Jose "Diego" Chapa, Braden Clampit, Kaitlyn Cloud, Elaina 17 Estremo, Aiden Hunter, and Greyson Philippovic; and 18 WHEREAS, The Texas A&M University Public Policy Internship 20

19

Program, established in 1999, invites students across all Texas A&M

21 University degree programs to create an interdisciplinary

environment for comprehensive academic training, research, and 22

23 policy programming; interns in the nation's capital, in Austin, and

abroad serve in a variety of settings that align with their 24

H.R. No. 910

- 1 professional goals; approximately 1,300 students have participated
- 2 in this program to date; the current PPIP interns are Mazbeen Ali,
- 3 Jonathan Amason, Campbell Beresford, Dastan Bigarli, Jareli
- 4 Cavazos, Gavin Dealy, Stephanie DeCamp, Alexander Elsworth, Roger
- 5 Gonzalez, Annie Mosis, Sarah Olmos, Georgia Page, Haylee Plumley,
- 6 Natalie Portillo Franco, Snigdha Ramineni, Hayden Richards,
- 7 Natasha Simmons, David Taravella, Maria Tellez, Owen Thompson,
- 8 Sebastian Valdivia, Ezra Villarreal, Caleb White, and Pierce
- 9 Whitley, along with Kenneth Arreazola from Texas A&M International
- 10 University; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Since the 82nd Session, the Bush School of
- 12 Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University has sent a
- 13 select group of graduate students, known as Capstone Scholars, to
- 14 work in the legislature; these students, most of whom intend to work
- 15 in government positions when they graduate, bring knowledge,
- 16 skills, and motivation to their respective offices; their
- 17 legislative experiences add greatly to their professional
- 18 development and benefit the State of Texas in myriad ways; the
- 19 current Bush School Capstone interns are Nick Cooper, Katie Irwin,
- 20 Valerie McKeever, Julia Patterson, Sydney Ramon, Daniel Robinson,
- 21 Kirsten Stewart, and Erin Taravella; and
- WHEREAS, The Texas A&M School of Law Residency Externship
- 23 Program in Public Policy, first offered in 2016, brings law
- 24 students to Washington, D.C., and to Austin to serve in a variety of
- 25 legislative, executive, and advocacy settings that align with their
- 26 professional goals; students are selected for their academic
- 27 achievement, demonstrated interest in public service, and

H.R. No. 910

- 1 completion of studies specific to legislation, regulation, and
- 2 substantive policy law; this preparation allows them to offer
- 3 advanced skills and knowledge to the policymakers and advocates
- 4 with whom they work; current Texas A&M Law students are Payton
- 5 Ramsey and Matthew McGrenera; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Since 2010, Tarleton State University has sent
- 7 numerous interns to Austin and Washington, D.C., where they work on
- 8 an array of issues; their strong background and interest in public
- 9 policy, history, education, criminal justice, health care, and
- 10 agriculture, among other topics, equip them to offer specialized
- 11 knowledge to legislators; current Tarleton interns are Ashton
- 12 Maitlen, Lacy Malone, Madeleine Odom, Kaydence Vertner, and
- 13 Nicholla Webb; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Through the years, these programs have helped
- 15 exceptional students deepen their understanding of legislative
- 16 processes and general government functionality while developing
- 17 important professional skills and critical peer networks, and past
- 18 program participants have gone on to make vital contributions and
- 19 assume leadership roles in a variety of arenas; the outstanding
- 20 young people who are giving of their time and talents, with the
- 21 utmost integrity, throughout this legislative session can indeed
- 22 take pride in their achievements and selfless service to the Lone
- 23 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
- 25 Legislature hereby recognize the 2025 Texas A&M University System
- 26 policy interns and commend the current participants for their
- 27 diligence and commitment to excellence; and, be it further

H.R. No. 910

- 1 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 2 for the students as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 3 of Representatives.