H.R. No. 961

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Municipal Police Association is 2 celebrating its 75th anniversary in 2025; and

WHEREAS, TMPA was founded in 1950 by a group of officers from
Houston, San Antonio, Fort Worth, Waco, Austin, and Abilene who
sought to provide law enforcement personnel with professional
representation at the local and state level; the organization
eventually opened its membership to all law enforcement agencies
across Texas, and it has grown to become the largest law enforcement
association in the state; today, the organization represents more
than 33,500 officers at the local, county, and state levels; and

9 than 33,500 officers at the local, county, and state levels; and 10 WHEREAS, During the 2010s, TMPA became a founding member of 11 12 the Texas Law Enforcement Council, which unites law enforcement labor groups in furthering their common goals and supporting state 13 14 policies that align with their shared interests; in addition to its advocacy efforts, TMPA has provided legal representation and 15 16 fraternal support to its members, and it has played an instrumental role in responding to natural disasters; and 17

WHEREAS, For three quarters of a century, the Texas Municipal Police Association has rendered exceptional service to the many law enforcement officers who help to protect our communities, and it is a pleasure to join in recognizing the organization on this milestone occasion; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas 24 Legislature hereby commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Texas

H.R. No. 961

- 1 Municipal Police Association and extend to all those affiliated
- 2 with the organization sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it
- 3 further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for TMPA as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 6 of Representatives.

Louderback

Н	D	$N \cap$	961

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 961 was adopted by the House on May 15, 2025, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House