H.R. No. 1339

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Coryell County are gathering in

2 Austin on May 28, 2025, in celebration of Coryell County Day at the

3 State Capitol; and

4 WHEREAS, Situated in the Cross Timbers ecological region of

5 Central Texas, the area that would become Coryell County was first

6 inhabited by prehistoric peoples and later by Tonkawa, Lipan

7 Apache, Kiowa, and Comanche Indians; the region was part of the

8 Milam Land District, and though it was assigned by the Mexican

9 government for settlement in 1825, few residents arrived until the

10 late 1840s, when Fort Gates and other American military posts were

11 founded to protect locals from Indian raids; in 1854, the Texas

12 Legislature established Coryell County and named it in honor of

13 frontiersman and Texas Ranger James Coryell, an early landholder;

14 Gatesville, which had formed around Fort Gates, was chosen as the

15 county seat; and

WHEREAS, In its early years, the county's economy was driven

17 by stock raising and subsistence farming, with corn, wheat, and

18 cotton being key crops; though the Civil War and its aftermath

19 brought hardships for many, the economy began to recover in the late

20 1860s, and the county's population more than doubled between 1870

21 and 1880; the arrival of the Texas and St. Louis Railway and the

22 Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe Railway in 1882 prompted the

23 establishment of new communities and provided opportunities for

24 existing ones; by the turn of the century, the county's population

H.R. No. 1339

- 1 had grown to more than 21,000 people; and
- WHEREAS, Today, Coryell County is home to more than 86,000
- 3 residents, and its economy benefits from the retail, agricultural,
- 4 corrections, manufacturing, health care, and defense industries,
- 5 with the presence of Fort Cavazos and state prisons being key
- 6 contributors; notable communities include Gatesville and Copperas
- 7 Cove, and among its educational institutions are Central Texas
- 8 College and nearby Texas A&M University Central Texas; residents
- 9 and visitors alike enjoy such attractions as the Last Drive-In
- 10 Picture Show, the Coryell County Museum, and the annual Shivaree
- 11 festival; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The people of Coryell County take great pride in
- 13 their rich history as they work together to build an even brighter
- 14 future, and it is indeed fitting to honor them for their unique
- 15 contributions to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby recognize May 28, 2025, as Coryell County Day at
- 18 the State Capitol and extend a warm welcome to the visiting
- 19 delegation.

Slawson

H.R. No. 1339

Burrows Guerra Morales Shaw Guillen Alders Morgan Harless Allen Muñoz Harris Noble Anchía Ashby Harris Davila Olcott Harrison Oliverson Barry Bell of Kaufman Hayes Ordaz Bell of Montgomery Hefner Orr Bernal Hernandez Patterson Bhojani Hickland Paul Perez of El Paso Bonnen Hinojosa Perez of Harris Bowers Holt Bryant Hopper Phelan Buckley Howard Pierson Hull Plesa Bucy Hunter Raymond Bumgarner Button Isaac Reynolds Cain Johnson Richardson Campos Jones of Dallas Rodríguez Ramos Jones of Harris Canales Romero Kerwin Rose Capriglione King Rosenthal Cole Collier Kitzman Schatzline Cook LaHood Schofield Cortez Lalani Schoolcraft Craddick Lambert Shaheen Cunningham Landgraf Shofner Curry Leach Simmons Darby Leo Wilson Slawson A. Davis of Dallas Little Smithee Y. Davis of Dallas Longoria Spiller Lopez of Bexar Swanson DeAyala Lopez of Cameron Talarico Dorazio Louderback Tepper Dutton Lowe Thompson Tinderholt Dyson Lozano Fairly Lujan Toth Troxclair Flores Luther Frank Manuel Turner Gámez Martinez VanDeaver Garcia of Bexar Vasut Martinez Fischer Garcia of Dallas McLaughlin Villalobos Garcia Hernandez McQueeney Virdell Gates Metcalf Vo Gerdes Meyer Walle Geren Meza Ward Johnson Gervin-Hawkins Money Wharton Wilson González of Dallas Moody González of El Paso Morales of Harris

Morales of Maverick

Zwiener

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 1339
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1339 was	adopted by the House on May 28,
2025, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House