By: Anchía H.R. No. 1383

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The recipients of the Dallas Education Foundation
- 2 Educator of the Year awards are visiting the State Capitol on
- 3 May 27, 2025, providing a welcome opportunity to pay tribute to
- 4 these exemplary professionals; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Educator of the Year accolades honor teachers
- 6 and principals in the Dallas Independent School District who make a
- 7 positive difference in the lives of their students; the foundation
- 8 honors a total of six individuals each year, with one teacher and
- 9 one principal being chosen in each of three categories; the winners
- 10 were announced at the Dallas ISD State of the District: Together We
- 11 Make It Happen event on May 6; and
- WHEREAS, The 2024-2025 Teachers of the Year are Patricia
- 13 Cortez from the School for the Talented and Gifted in Pleasant
- 14 Grove, who was selected in the choice/magnet category, Bernardo
- 15 Velez Rico of North Dallas High School, who was chosen in the
- 16 secondary category, and Netallia Rush of Ronald Erwin McNair
- 17 Elementary School, the elementary honoree; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The 2024-2025 Principals of the Year are
- 19 choice/magnet award winner Channel Hutchinson of New Tech High
- 20 School at B. F. Darrell, secondary honoree Stephanie Amaya of
- 21 W. H. Adamson High School, and elementary selection Beverly
- 22 Mullins Ford of Anne Frank Elementary School; and
- 23 WHEREAS, These individuals exemplify the passion,
- 24 determination, and innovative spirit that are the hallmarks of our

H.R. No. 1383

- 1 best educators, and they have set a standard of excellence to which
- 2 all in their profession may aspire; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2024-2025
- 5 Educator of the Year awards presented by the Dallas Education
- 6 Foundation and extend to the teachers and principals sincere best
- 7 wishes for an enjoyable and rewarding visit to the State Capitol;
- 8 and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the award winners as an expression of high regard by
- 11 the Texas House of Representatives.