By: Ashby

H.R. No. 1402

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The inaugural cohort of The University of Texas 2 System Texas Legislative Fellowship Program have ably served their 3 fellow Texans during the 89th Legislative Session; and

WHEREAS, Established by the UT System Board of Regents in 2024, this remarkable initiative fosters civic engagement and public service among students from across the UT System through full-time internships during the legislative session; and

8 WHEREAS, In 2025, the program welcomed its first cohort of 40 9 students, who have contributed meaningfully to the work of the 10 Texas Legislature and state government, gaining firsthand 11 experience in policymaking, legislative research, constituent 12 services, and the day-to-day operations of state offices; the 13 students in the inaugural cohort are:

Dane Adams, serving in the office of Governor Greg
Abbott

Isais Almonte, serving in the office of State Senator
 Charles Schwertner

- Madison Alvarez, serving in the office of State
 Representative Trey Martinez Fischer
- Stephany Rae Bauer, serving in the office of State
 Senator Judith Zaffirini
- Emily Betancourt, serving in the office of State
 Representative Eddie Morales Jr.
- Trent Bush, serving in the office of State

1	Representative Todd Hunter
2	ullet Jordyn Dillard, serving in the office of State
3	Representative Salman Bhojani
4	ullet Michelle Elele, serving in the office of State
5	Representative Rhetta Andrews Bowers
6	ullet Marissa Nicole Equiniones, serving in the office of
7	Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick
8	ullet Jonah C. Espinoza, serving in the office of the House
9	Parliamentarian
10	ullet Julia Heck, serving in the office of State Senator
11	Judith Zaffirini
12	ullet Ethan Hernandez, serving in the office of State
13	Senator José Menéndez
14	ullet Brett Khanh Jacobsen, serving with the Senate
15	Committee on Health and Human Services
16	ullet Jeremiah Joseph, serving in the office of State
17	Senator Royce West
18	● Aswa Kamal, serving in the office of State
19	Representative Josey Garcia
20	ullet Miguel Koch, serving in the office of State Senator
21	Robert Nichols
22	• Rujul Kulkarni, serving in the office of State
23	Senator Nathan Johnson
24	ullet Madison Lindsey, serving in the office of State
25	Senator Royce West
26	ullet Sophia Lopez, serving in the office of Lieutenant
27	Governor Dan Patrick

1	• Shawn Maki, serving in the office of State
2	Representative Erin Zwiener
3	• Dua Sattar Manganhar, serving in the office of State
4	Representative Erin Elizabeth Gámez
5	• Dylan Lee Miles, serving with the Senate Committee on
6	Education K-16
7	• Matthew Allen Moses, serving in the office of State
8	Senator Bob Hall
9	• Param Naik, serving in the office of State
10	Representative Angie Chen Button
11	• Hasti Patel, serving in the office of State Senator
12	Royce West
13	• Bianca Vanessa Perez, serving in the office of State
14	Senator César J. Blanco
15	• Leslie Puentes, serving in the office of State
16	Representative Salman Bhojani
17	• Ricky Ramos, serving in the office of the House
18	Sergeant-at-Arms
19	• Maia Oralia Rodriguez, serving in the office of State
20	Representative Trent Ashby
21	• Heer Shah, serving in the office of State
22	Representative Mihaela E. Plesa
23	• Sydney Marie Shifflett, serving in the office of
24	State Representative Joanne Shofner
25	• Matthew Wilson Stafford, serving in the office of
26	State Representative John Lujan
27	• Nathan Sullivan, serving in the office of State

- 1 Representative Chris Turner • Yaseen Tasnif, serving in the office 2 of State 3 Representative Erin Zwiener • Maddy Terry, serving in the office 4 of State Representative Ryan Guillen 5 • Kayla Trujillo, serving with the Senate Committee on 6 Health and Human Services 7
 - Emiliano Valenzuela, serving with the Texas Higher
 Education Coordinating Board
 - Fiona Greer Valorz, serving with the Texas Higher
 Education Coordinating Board
 - Tommy Wan, serving in the office of State Senator
 Nathan Johnson
 - Tariq Wrensford, serving in the office of State
 Representative Ron Reynolds; and

16 WHEREAS, These outstanding fellows represent all nine 17 academic institutions within the UT System, as well as The 18 University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, and they have 19 demonstrated exceptional dedication, professionalism, and 20 commitment to public service throughout the 89th Legislative 21 Session; and

22 WHEREAS, By performing their duties with skill and 23 dedication, these noteworthy Texans have set a strong foundation 24 for future participants, and it is a pleasure to join in honoring 25 the members of the inaugural cohort as well as The UT System Board 26 of Regents and all those who helped bring the program to fruition; now, therefore, be it 27

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend the members of the inaugural cohort of 3 The University of Texas System Texas Legislative Fellowship Program 4 for their remarkable service during the 89th Legislative Session 5 and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success as they 6 prepare to become the future leaders of the Lone Star State; and, be 7 it further

8 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 9 for the program's participants as an expression of high regard by 10 the Texas House of Representatives.