H.R. No. 1416

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Austin speech team

furthered its legacy of success by winning the national

3 championship at the 2025 American Forensic Association National

4 Speech Tournament; and

5 WHEREAS, Since 1978, the AFA-NST has drawn thousands of

6 college students from across the country to compete for national

7 titles in 11 individual events; held each April, its participants

8 must pass through a rigorous qualification system to earn their

9 entrance; and

2

10 WHEREAS, Competing on April 5-7 in Charlotte, North Carolina,

11 Texas Speech collected its 4th consecutive national championship

12 and the 11th in program history; individually, its members brought

13 home 11 national finalist trophies in events ranging from limited

14 preparation to interpretation, with performances that prioritized

15 political and personal advocacy; in addition, third-year student

16 Ishika Bhasin was named the national champion in impromptu

17 speaking; and

18 WHEREAS, Housed in the Department of Communication Studies

19 within the Moody College of Communication, Texas Speech is UT

20 Austin's official competitive intercollegiate speech organization,

21 and its members train and compete in nationally recognized

22 categories of performance and public speaking; they also serve

23 alongside Texas Debate as the organizing point for the historical

24 records and forensic history of one of the school's oldest student

H.R. No. 1416

- 1 organizations, the Texas Forensic Union, which was first
- 2 established as the Athenaeum Literary Society in 1883; led by
- 3 captains Kaylee Frazier and Jennifer Gonzalez, the team benefits
- 4 from the guidance of its director, Dr. Eva Margarita, and coaches;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, By collecting four consecutive national
- 7 championships, Texas Speech has distinguished itself as a
- 8 powerhouse in collegiate forensics, and its members may indeed
- 9 reflect with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas speech team
- 12 on winning the championship at the 2025 American Forensic
- 13 Association National Speech Tournament and extend to its members
- 14 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for Texas Speech as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.

Anchía

H.R. No. 1416

Burrows Guerra Morales Shaw Guillen Alders Morgan Harless Allen Muñoz Harris Noble Anchía Ashby Harris Davila Olcott Harrison Oliverson Barry Bell of Kaufman Hayes Ordaz Bell of Montgomery Hefner Orr Bernal Hernandez Patterson Bhojani Hickland Paul Perez of El Paso Bonnen Hinojosa Perez of Harris Bowers Holt Bryant Hopper Phelan Buckley Howard Pierson Hull Plesa Bucy Hunter Raymond Bumgarner Button Isaac Reynolds Cain Johnson Richardson Campos Jones of Dallas Rodríguez Ramos Jones of Harris Canales Romero Kerwin Rose Capriglione King Rosenthal Cole Collier Kitzman Schatzline Cook LaHood Schofield Cortez Lalani Schoolcraft Craddick Lambert Shaheen Cunningham Landgraf Shofner Curry Leach Simmons Darby Leo Wilson Slawson A. Davis of Dallas Little Smithee Y. Davis of Dallas Longoria Spiller Lopez of Bexar Swanson DeAyala Lopez of Cameron Talarico Dorazio Louderback Tepper Dutton Lowe Thompson Tinderholt Dyson Lozano Fairly Lujan Toth Troxclair Flores Luther Frank Manuel Turner Gámez Martinez VanDeaver Garcia of Bexar Martinez Fischer Vasut Garcia of Dallas McLaughlin Villalobos Garcia Hernandez McQueeney Virdell Gates Metcalf Vo Gerdes Meyer Walle Geren Meza Ward Johnson Gervin-Hawkins Money Wharton Wilson González of Dallas Moody González of El Paso Morales of Harris

Morales of Maverick

Zwiener

Goodwin

	H.R. No. 1416
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 1416 was	adopted by the House on May 28,
2025, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House