By: Hayes

H.R. No. 1469

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The members of the PowerHouse Texas Energy Policy
Fellowship Program have provided indispensable support during the
89th Legislative Session; and

WHEREAS, Founded by the Texas Energy and Climate Caucus, 4 5 PowerHouse Texas is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization that educates and cultivates policy leaders who will promote energy 6 7 innovation, security, and sustainability; the group's Energy Policy Fellowship Program enables graduate and undergraduate 8 9 students with backgrounds in science, technology, engineering, and environmental science to work at the Texas Capitol through 10 11 full-time, paid internships; and

12 WHEREAS, The initiative pairs fellows with members of the 13 Texas House of Representatives and Senate, providing opportunities 14 for the students to develop their leadership skills and gain 15 valuable experience in policymaking and the legislative process; 16 during their tenure, the interns also meet regularly with energy 17 technology experts, legislative staff, researchers, academics, and 18 other stakeholders; this year's cohort includes six students; and

WHEREAS, Andie Kapioff is serving in the office of State Senator Nathan Johnson; a native of Houston, she holds a bachelor's degree in political science from Swarthmore College and a master's degree in climate and society from Columbia University; passionate about environmental and energy law and policy, she plans to attend law school after the conclusion of her fellowship; and

1

H.R. No. 1469

1 WHEREAS, Ava Peinhardt is serving in the office of State 2 Representative Todd Hunter; hailing from the Dallas-Fort Worth 3 area, she recently graduated from Trinity University with a 4 bachelor's degree in environmental studies; while developing her 5 writing skills as a student, she gained an interest in science 6 communication and environmental policy; and

7 WHEREAS, Coleman Nickum is serving in the office of State 8 Representative Erin Zwiener; a recent graduate of Rice University's 9 Professional Science Master's Program, he has interned with BCarbon 10 and Cheniere Energy; he has also been employed with the Texas 11 Commission on Environmental Quality as the lead coordinator for the 12 National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) and Resource Exchange 13 Network for Eliminating Waste (RENEW) programs; and

WHEREAS, Grace Childers is serving in the office of State Representative Richard Hayes; a recent graduate of The University of Texas at Austin, she holds a bachelor's degree in chemical engineering; her experience in hydrogen energy systems includes working as an undergraduate research assistant at the Center for Electromechanics; and

WHEREAS, Nia Nickens is serving in the office of State 20 Representative Rafael Anchía; she recently earned her master's 21 degree in energy from Texas A&M University, where she contributed 22 23 to techno-economic analysis of the electrification а of 24 transportation systems in Dallas, and she has a deep interest in finding ways to reduce energy burdens in low-income communities; 25 26 and

27 WHEREAS, Shipra Mishra is serving in the office of State

2

H.R. No. 1469

Representative Drew Darby; her experience in law and energy policy includes positions with a member of the Indian Parliament and the Government of India Ministry of Mines, and she has consulted with the U.S. Government Accountability Office; she holds a bachelor of laws degree from Gujarat National Law University and a master of public administration degree from Cornell University, where she has conducted research at the Climate Jobs Institute; and

8 WHEREAS, These outstanding fellows have performed their 9 duties with skill and dedication, and they are indeed deserving of 10 special recognition for their fine work; now, therefore, be it

11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 89th Texas 12 Legislature hereby commend the members of the PowerHouse Texas 13 Energy Policy Fellowship Program for their service during the 89th 14 Legislative Session and extend to them sincere best wishes for the 15 future; and, be it further

16 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 17 for the program's participants as an expression of high regard by 18 the Texas House of Representatives.

3