By: Nichols S.B. No. 997

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1	AN	ACT

- 2 relating to the duties of the district attorney for the 1st Judicial
- 3 District and the creation of the office of district attorney for the
- 4 273rd Judicial District.
- 5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 6 SECTION 1. Section 43.101, Government Code, is amended to
- 7 read as follows:
- 8 Sec. 43.101. 1ST JUDICIAL DISTRICT. The voters of [Sabine
- 9 and San Augustine County [counties] elect a district attorney for
- 10 the 1st Judicial District who represents the state in the [that]
- 11 district courts in that county [court only in those counties].
- 12 SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 43, Government Code, is
- 13 amended by adding Section 43.1742 to read as follows:
- 14 Sec. 43.1742. 273RD JUDICIAL DISTRICT. The voters of
- 15 Sabine County elect a district attorney for the 273rd Judicial
- 16 District who represents the state in the district courts in that
- 17 county.
- 18 SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to
- 19 read as follows:
- Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
- 21 applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors,
- 22 and the following state prosecutors:
- 23 (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg
- 24 Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 24th,

S.B. No. 997

- 1 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 39th,
- 2 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th,
- 3 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 79th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th,
- 4 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th,
- 5 123rd, 132nd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th,
- 6 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th,
- 7 268th, 271st, 273rd, 286th, 287th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th,
- 8 369th, 452nd, and 506th judicial districts;
- 9 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
- 10 of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
- 11 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
- 12 Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo,
- 13 Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Kendall, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison,
- 14 Medina, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San
- 15 Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt,
- 16 Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- 17 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
- 18 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Aransas, Burleson,
- 19 Callahan, Cameron, Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls,
- 20 Freestone, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lavaca,
- 21 Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Oldham, Orange,
- 22 Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Swisher, Terry, Webb, and
- 23 Willacy.
- SECTION 4. (a) The office of district attorney for the
- 25 273rd Judicial District is created on the effective date of this
- 26 Act.
- 27 (b) The office of district attorney for the 273rd Judicial

S.B. No. 997

- 1 District exists for purposes of the primary and general elections
- 2 in 2028.
- SECTION 5. This Act takes effect January 1, 2029.