SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 102

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the citizens of Erath County and the Alamo Letter Society in celebrating the dedication of a plaque at the Erath County Courthouse honoring the historic letter penned by William Barrett Travis at the Battle of the Alamo; and

WHEREAS, On February 24, 1836, Lieutenant Colonel William Barrett Travis, leader of the Texians defending the Alamo, wrote a letter to call for reinforcements to fight against General Santa Anna's army from Mexico; the letter was heroically dispatched across enemy lines to General Sam Houston by Captain Albert Martin; this letter is also immortalized on a bronze plaque displayed at the Alamo; and

WHEREAS, The Alamo Letter Society was formed after the McNutt family visited the Alamo in 2023, and Slone McNutt, a seventh-grade student at the time, wondered why plaques of the famed letter were not placed in locations throughout the state; since the society's establishment, its members have promoted a mission to donate bronze letter plaques to all 254 Texas county courthouses; and

WHEREAS, Through the dedicated efforts of the Alamo Letter Society, citizens across the Lone Star State can gain a greater appreciation of the sacrifices that were made in the fight for liberty and to defend the Alamo; these plaques serve as an enduring symbol of freedom to future generations and as a reminder of our state's rich and storied history; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 89th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Alamo Letter Society for their commitment to preserving a vital part of the state's historic struggle for independence from Mexico, and extend best wishes to all for a memorable plaque dedication ceremony at the Erath County Courthouse; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the county as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Birdwell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 18, 2025.

Secretary of the Senate