By: Birdwell S.R. No. 105

## SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join Tarleton State University in celebrating 125 years of excellence in higher education; and

WHEREAS, Tarleton State University was established in Stephenville in 1899 as John Tarleton College; the school joined The Texas A&M University System in 1917, and the institution's name changed throughout the years before it became known as Tarleton State University in 1973; and

WHEREAS, Today, the university serves around 18,000 students online and at its campuses in Stephenville, Bryan, Fort Worth, and Waco; students benefit from a broad range of activities and organizations, NCAA Division I athletic programs, and one of the nation's largest and winningest rodeo programs; and

WHEREAS, Preparing students for future success in their chosen fields is key to building a brighter future for all Texans, and Tarleton State University is indeed deserving of special recognition for its growth in enrollment, research, scholarship, athletics, and philanthropy and for the outstanding achievements of its students and faculty; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 89th Legislature, hereby commend the administrators, faculty, and staff of Tarleton State University for their invaluable contributions to higher education in the Lone Star State and

S.R. No. 105

extend to all best wishes for a memorable 125th anniversary celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the university as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.