SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 184

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Court Appointed Special Advocates of Central Texas on the grand occasion of its 40th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) began in King County, Washington, in 1977, when Judge David Soukup enlisted local community volunteers to advocate for abused or neglected children in child protective services; since its establishment, the organization has grown into a vast network of more than 90,000 generous volunteers who serve in 49 states and the District of Columbia; and

WHEREAS, CASA of Central Texas joined the national advocacy network in 1985 to assist children during court hearings in Caldwell, Comal, Guadalupe, and Hays Counties; over the last four decades, its staff and volunteers have worked with children in foster care to make informed recommendations to the courts and provide judges with the valuable information they need to act in the best interest of the child; and

WHEREAS, CASA of Central Texas continues to uphold its mission through the compassionate advocacy of 169 trained volunteers who serve as informed, collaborative partners in each county's legal system, and all associated with the organization are truly deserving of recognition for their contributions to ensuring all children receive compassionate care and a safe home; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 89th Legislature, hereby commend the staff and volunteers of Court Appointed Special Advocates of Central Texas on 40 years of service on behalf of abused and neglected young Texans and extend to them best wishes for continued success in all their endeavors; and, be it further

 ${\tt RESOLVED}, \ {\tt That} \ {\tt a} \ {\tt copy} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt this} \ {\tt Resolution} \ {\tt be} \ {\tt prepared} \ {\tt for} \ {\tt the} \ {\tt organization} \ {\tt in} \ {\tt honor} \ {\tt of} \ {\tt this} \ {\tt occasion}.$

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 4, 2025.

Secretary of the Senate