## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 279

WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Retired Teachers Association are celebrating Texas Retired Teachers Week from March 24 to 28, 2025; and

WHEREAS, Made up of nearly 100,000 members, TRTA serves as a resource and advocate for retired school personnel throughout Texas and works diligently in behalf of current and future public education retirees; through its support of a strong teacher retirement system, the association promotes the financial soundness of the pension and health care programs serving former educators; in turn, the more than \$13.45 billion in annuity payments to retirees have contributed to increased economic activity and the creation of nearly 250,000 jobs in Texas; and

WHEREAS, The association is also devoted to benefiting communities across the state through volunteer initiatives, and each year, TRTA members perform more than six million hours of service, equivalent to a value of over \$200 million; many of these endeavors are focused on schools, and members have further encouraged reading and literacy among young Texans through their contribution of more than 1.7 million books to the Children's Book Project, including 210,071 in the last year; and

WHEREAS, Deeply committed to supporting education and educators, the Texas Retired Teachers Association has made a positive and lasting difference in the Lone Star State, and the members of this noteworthy organization are indeed deserving of recognition for their efforts; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 89th Legislature, hereby recognize March 24 to 28, 2025, as Texas Retired Teachers Week and extend to all those associated with the

1

S.R. No. 279

organization sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Texas Retired Teachers Association as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Huffman

Alvarado	Hagenbuch	Middleton
Bettencourt	Hall	Miles
Birdwell	Hancock	Nichols
Blanco	Hinojosa of Hidalgo	Parker
Campbell	Hinojosa of Nueces	Paxton
Cook	Hughes	Perry
Creighton	Johnson	Schwertner
Eckhardt	King	Sparks
Flores	Kolkhorst	West
Gutierrez	Menéndez	Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 26, 2025.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate