SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 560

WHEREAS, May 24, 2025, marks three years since the mass shooting took place at Robb Elementary School in Uvalde, an incident that forever changed the lives of countless families and left an indelible mark on the community; and

WHEREAS, That heartbreaking day saw the loss of 19 students and 2 teachers, with 18 others suffering injuries; and

WHEREAS, On this solemn occasion, the Texas Senate stands in remembrance of the precious young children whose lives were taken far too soon: Tess Marie Mata, age 10; Uziyah Sergio Garcia, age 10; Nevaeh Alyssa Bravo, age 10; Jose Manuel Flores Jr., age 10; Eliahna Amyah Garcia, age 9; Amerie Jo Garza, age 10; Xavier James Lopez, age 10; Jayce Carmelo Luevanos, age 10; Jacklyn Jaylen Cazares, age 9; Alithia Haven Ramirez, age 10; Annabell Guadalupe Rodriguez, age 10; Maite Yuleana Rodriguez, age 10; Layla Marie Salazar, age 11; Makenna Lee Elrod Seiler, age 10; Jaliah Nicole Silguero, age 10; Eliahna Torres, age 10; Rojelio Fernandez Torres, age 10; Maranda Gail Mathis, age 11; and Alexandria Aniyah "Lexi" Rubio, age 10; and

WHEREAS, It is also fitting to commemorate the loss of the two courageous teachers, Eva Mireles, age 44, and Irma Linda Garcia, age 48, whose extraordinary selflessness led them to prioritize the safety of their students above all else; and

WHEREAS, No amount of time can fully ease the pain that has followed in the wake of the incident, and the absence of these beloved children and educators continues to be felt every single day by their families, their friends, and the entire Uvalde community; their lives, filled with dreams and potential, were

cut tragically short, and we honor their memories by celebrating the impact they had on those around them; and

whereas, The resilience of the Uvalde community in the face of such unimaginable sorrow is a testament to the strength of those who have come together to comfort and support one another; through these efforts, residents are carrying forward the legacy of the victims while striving for a world where no one must endure such a tragedy again; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 89th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the lives of the 21 victims of the mass shooting that took place at Robb Elementary School in Uvalde on May 24, 2022, and extend deepest sympathy to all who mourn their passing.

Gutierrez

Hall Middleton Alvarado Bettencourt Hancock Miles Hinojosa of Hidalgo Nichols Birdwell Hinojosa of Nueces Blanco Parker Campbell Huffman Paxton Cook Hughes Perry Creighton Johnson Schwertner Eckhardt King Sparks Kolkhorst Flores West Hagenbuch Menéndez Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 23, 2025, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate